Call for Nominations | WHA 2024 Awards: Articles and Essays

Event Details

End: April 15, 2024
More Info:

The Western History Association offers nine article and essay awards due by April 15, 2024.  Two of the article awards are for publications within the Western Historical Quarterly. For more information, please visit our website. 

Arrell M. Gibson Award

This $500 prize honors the best essay of the year on the history of Native Americans.

Arrington-Prucha Prize

This $500 prize recognizes the best essay of the year on religious history in the American West. 

Michael P. Malone Award

This $500 award honors the best article, essay, or commentary on state, provincial, or territorial history in North America appearing in a periodical publication.

Vicki Ruiz Award

This $500 prize recognizes the best article on race in the North American West. Any WHA member, publisher, or author of a peer-reviewed article may nominate work published in the previous year. 

Bolton-Cutter Award

The $500 award recognizes the best journal article on any phase of the history of the Borderlands.

Jensen-Miller Award

This is a $500 award for the best article in the field of women and gender in the North American West. 

Ray Allen Billington Prize

This $500 award honors the best journal article in Western history not published in the WHQ


Contact Info: 

If you have questions about awards, please contact the individual award committee. Please select the award in question to access the committee information. For other questions, please contact the WHA Staff.


Abi Scott

WHA Graduate Assistant