Society of American Historians

Established: 1939. Affiliate since May 1993. Membership: 400. Annual dues: $75.

Statement of Purpose: To promote literary distinction in historical writing. The Society sponsors three prize competitions that recognize exceptional literary merit in the writing of history and biography: the annual Francis Parkman Prize for a nonfiction book in American history; the biennial James Fenimore Cooper Prize for a historical novel on an American theme; and the Allan Nevins Prize for a doctoral dissertation on an American subject. The submission deadline for the Cooper and Parkman prizes is December 1 and for the Nevins, December 31. Jointly with the Roosevelt Institute, the Society also awards the Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr. Award for distinguished writing in American history of enduring public significance. Membership is by election only.

Annual Meeting: May; annual breakfast concurrently with OAH meeting