Society for the Study of Early Modern Women and Gender

Established: 1994. Affiliate since January 2004. Membership: 200. Annual dues: $45 student, part-time, independent scholar; $26 regular; $50 sustaining.

Statement of Purpose: The Society for the Study of Early Modern Women and Gender is a network of scholars who meet annually, sponsor sessions at conferences, maintain a listserv and website, give awards for outstanding scholarship, and support one another’s work in the field. SSEMWaG welcomes scholars and teachers from any discipline who study women and their contributions to the cultural, political, economic, or social spheres of the early modern period and whose interest in it includes attention to gender and representations of women.

Annual Meeting: Meets annually with the Sixteenth Century Studies Conference

Website: http://ssemwg.org/

Address
Society for the Study of Early Modern Women
Dept. of English, Univ. of Minnesota
600 E. 4th St.
Morris, MN 56267

Primary Contact: Olivia Weisser, olivia.weisser@umb.edu

Officers

President
Julie A. Eckerle
Univ. of Minnesota, Morris
E-mail: ecker014@morris.umn.edu

Vice President
Susan Amussen
Univ. of California, Merced
E-mail: samussen@ucmerced.edu

Past President
Julia L. Hairston
Univ. of California, Rome
E-mail: julia.hairston@fastwebnet.it

Treasurer
Deborah Uman
St. John Fisher Coll.
E-mail: duman@sjfc.edu

Secretary
Grace E. Coolidge
Grand Valley State Univ.
E-mail: coolidgg@gvsu.edu

Web Editor
 
Pia Jakobsson
Univ. of Texas, Dallas
E-mail: pia.jakobsson@utdallas.edu

Social Media Liaison
Anna Wainwright
Univ. of New Hampshire
E-mail: anna.wainwright@unh.edu

AHA Liaison
Olivia Weisser
Univ. of Massachusetts Boston
E-mail: Olivia.weisser@ub.edu

Updated 6/3/20