National Council on Public History

Established: 1979. Affiliate since December 1982. Membership: 1,600. Annual dues: $35 student; $45 new professional; $74 individual; $125 sustaining.

Statement of Purpose: Given the essential value of historical understanding, NCPH promotes professionalism among history practitioners and their engagement with the public.

Annual Meeting: March/April

Publications: Public Historian, quarterly; Public History News, quarterly; Guide to Public History Programs; Careers for Students in History; The Public History Navigator: How to Choose and Thrive in a Graduate Public History Program.

Recent Resources

Public History Employer Report and Survey

To address concerns about job prospects for public historians, a joint task force of the National Council on Public History, the American Association for State and Local History, the American Historical Association, and the Organization of American Historians developed an online survey for public history employers. Based on responses from 401 public history employers, the task force produced this report on trends in public history employment since the 2008 recession.

Website: http://www.ncph.org

Address
National Council on Public History
127 Cavanaugh Hall
425 University Blvd.
Indianapolis, IN 46202-5140
Phone: 317.274.2716

Primary Contact: Stephanie Rowe, rowes@iupui.edu

Officers

President
Alexandra M. Lord
National Museum of American History
E-mail: lorda@si.edu

Vice President
Marla R. Miller
Univ. of Massachusetts, Amherst
E-mail: mmiller@history.umass.edu

Secretary/Treasurer
Kristine Navarro-McElhaney
Arizona State Univ.
E-mail: knavarr5@asu.edu

Executive Director
Stephanie Rowe
National Council on Public History
E-mail: rowes@iupui.edu

Editor, The Public Historian
James F. Brooks
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
E-mail: jbrooks@history.ucsb.edu

Managing Editor, The Public Historian
Sarah H. Case
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
E-mail: scase@history.ucsb.edu

Co-Editor, The Public Historian
Tamara Gaskell
Rutgers Univ., Camden
E-mail: tamara.gaskell@rutgers.edu