French Colonial Historical Society

Established: 1974. Membership: 150. Annual dues: $35 US/$45 Canadian student membership; $65 US/$85 Canadian regular membership; $500 US/$630 Canadian life membership.

Statement of Purpose: The French Colonial Historical Society encourages interest in the scholarly study of all French colonizing activity and in the history of all French colonies. It provides its members with various channels, including newsletters, annual meetings, a web site, and French Colonial History, a refereed journal published by Michigan State University Press. The Society awards the Heggoy and Boucher Prizes annually for outstanding books on French colonial history, and it presents the Eccles Prize to the best article by a graduate student or recent post-graduate published in French Colonial History.

Annual Meeting: May or June

Publications: French Colonial History, quarterly journal; Papers from the French Colonial Historical Society (1977-1998); FCHS Newsletter, triennially

Website: http://www.frenchcolonial.org/

Twitter: @frenchcolonial

Address
French Colonial Historical Soc.
Dept. of Hist., Univ. of Iowa
280 Schaeffer Hall
Iowa City, IA 52242

Primary Contact: Jennifer Sessions, president@frenchcolonial.org

Officers

President
Jennifer Sessions
Univ. of Iowa
E-mail: president@frenchcolonial.org

Vice President
Richard S. Fogarty
State Univ. of New York, Albany
E-mail: vice-president@frenchcolonial.org

Past President
Nathalie H. Dessens
Univ. de Toulouse le Mirail
E-mail: dessens@univ-tlse2.fr

Treasurer
Spencer D. Segalla
Univ. of Tampa
E-mail: treasurer@frenchcolonial.org

Editor, French Colonial History
Kenneth J. Orosz
State Univ. of New York, Coll. at Buffalo
E-mail: oroszkj@buffalostate.edu 

News & Social Media Editor
Robin Mitchell
California State Univ., Channel Islands
E-mail: media@frenchcolonial.org

Webmaster
Kathryn Edwards
Tulane Univ.
E-mail: webmaster@frenchcolonial.org

Updated 2/1/18