Colonial Society of Massachusetts

Established: 1892. Membership: 315. Annual dues: life $1,000; resident $50/year; nonresident $40/year.

Statement of Purpose: The Colonial Society’s mission is to advance the study of early American history by publishing documents and other materials related to the history of New England—especially the colonies of Plymouth and Massachusetts Bay—by encouraging and recognizing individual research in these areas, by conducting education programs for its members and other interested individuals, by preserving the historic fabric of its headquarters at 87 Mount Vernon Street, and by inspiring in its members a spirit of fellowship based on our common appreciation of history.

Annual Meeting: Third Thursday in November

Publications: annual newsletter

Website: https://www.colonialsociety.org/

Address
87 Mount Vernon St.
Boston, MA 02108

Primary Contact: Donald R. Friary, donaldfriary@comcast.net

Officers

President
Donald R. Friary
History for Hire and Historic Deerfield
E-mail: donaldfriary@comcast.net

Vice President
Robert J. Allison
Suffolk Univ.
E-mail: rallison@suffolk.edu

Vice President
Daniel R. Coquillette
Boston Coll. Law School and Harvard Law School
E-mail: daniel.coquillette@bc.edu

Vice President
Susan Lindsey Lively
Harvard Univ.
E-mail: susan_lively@harvard.edu

Vice President
Celeste Walker
E-mail: celeste.walker100@gmail.com

Treasurer
Thomas Appleton
Loring, Wolcott & Coolidge
E-mail: tappleton@lwcotrust.com

Recording Secretary
Leslie A. Morris
Harvard Univ.
E-mail: leslie_morris@harvard.edu

Corresponding Secretary
Martha J. McNamara
Wellesley Coll.
E-mail: mmcnamar@wellesley.edu

Curator
Elton W. Hall
E-mail: brooksidepress@comcast.net

Editor of Publications
John W. Tyler
E-mail: jtyler1776@gmail.com