AhA Activities

2011 AHA Election Results

Carol Anderson, December 2011

Carol Anderson (Emory Univ.), chair of the Nominating Committee, announced the following results of the 2011 balloting for officers and committee members of the American Historical Association.


  • William Cronon (Univ. of Wisconsin–Madison)


  • Kenneth Pomeranz (Univ. of California, Irvine)

Vice President, Research Division

  • John R. McNeill (Georgetown Univ.)

Councilor Profession

  • Andrew J. Rotter (Colgate Univ.)

Councilor Research

  • Stephen Aron (UCLA and Autry National Center)

Councilor Teaching

  • Peter A. Porter Jr. (Montville Township, N.J., High School and Seton Hall Univ.)

Committee on Committees

  • Position 1: Suzanne Marchand (Louisiana State Univ.)

  • Position 2: Mia Bay (Rutgers Univ.-New Brunswick)

Nominating Committee

  • Position 1: Moon-Ho Jung (Univ. of Washington)

  • Position 2: Alida C. Metcalf (Rice Univ.)

  • Position 3: Dane K. Kennedy (George Washington Univ.)

The results will be formally announced at the annual business meeting to be held in Chicago, on January 7, 2012, in the Chicago Ballroom X of the Sheraton Chicago beginning at 4:45 p.m. A detailed election report will appear in the January 2012 issue of Perspectives on History.