The 2008 General Meeting

AHA Staff | Dec 1, 2007

The General Meeting of the AHA will take place Friday, January 4, 2008, at 8:30 p.m. in the Marriott Ballroom 2 of the Marriott Wardman Park.

President-elect Gabrielle M. Spiegel (Johns Hopkins Univ.) will announce the recipients of the AHA’s 2007 prizes and awards.

Award for Scholarly Distinction

Martin Duberman, Distinguished Professor of History Emeritus, Lehman College and the Graduate School, City Univ. of New York

Jack P. Greene, Andrew W. Mellon Professor Emeritus, Johns Hopkins Univ.

Anne Firor Scott, W. K. Boyd Professor Emerita of History, Duke Univ.

Honorary Foreign Member

João José Reis, Universidade Federal da Bahia, Brazil

Troyer Steele Anderson Prize

Roy Rosenzweig*, George Mason Univ.

*The Troyer Steele Anderson Prize was awarded to Roy Rosenzweig before he died on October 11, 2007. It will be now be conferred posthumously at the annual meeting.

Theodore Roosevelt-Woodrow Wilson Award

Richard Moe, National Trust for Historic Preservation

Beveridge Family Teaching Prize

The Civics Team at Little Rock Central High School, Arkansas (Mike Johnson, Adam Kirby, Cynthia Mahomes, Keith Richardson, Rachel Rigsby, April Rike, Sarah Schutte, Kirby Shofner, George West, and Stan Williams).

William Gilbert Award

Sam Wineburg, Susan Mosborg, Dan Porat, and Ariel Duncan, for their article, "Common Belief and the Cultural Curriculum: An Intergenerational Study of Historical Consciousness," American Educational Research Journal, 44:1 (March 2007), 40–76

Nancy L. Roelker Mentorship Award

Christine Hayes, Poudre High School, Fort Collins, Colorado

John E. O’Connor Film Award

Sacco and Vanzetti (Willow Pond Films, 2007) director and producer: Peter Miller, editor and producer: Amy Carey Linton

Herbert Feis Award

David H. DeVorkin, National Air and Space Museum

Book Prizes

Herbert Baxter Adams Prize

Francine Hirsch, Empire of Nations: Ethnographic Knowledge and the Making of the Soviet Union, Cornell Univ. Press, 2005

George Louis Beer Prize

J. P. Daughton, An Empire Divided: Religion, Republicanism, and the Making of French Colonialism, 1880–1914, Oxford Univ. Press, 2006

Albert J. Beveridge Award

Allan M. Brandt, The Cigarette Century: The Rise, Fall, and Deadly Persistence of the Product that Defined America, Basic Books, 2007

James Henry Breasted Prize

John Matthews, The Journey of Theophanes: Travel, Business, and Daily Life in the Roman East, Yale Univ. Press, 2006

John H. Dunning Prize

Linda Nash, Inescapable Ecologies: A History of Environment, Disease, and Knowledge, Univ. of California Press, 2007

John E. Fagg Prize

Sabine MacCormack, On the Wings of Time: Rome, the Incas, Spain, and Peru, Princeton Univ. Press, 2006

John K. Fairbank Prize in East Asian History

Eugenia Lean, Public Passions: The Trial of Shi Jianqiao and the rise of Popular Sympathy in Republican China, Univ. of California Press, 2007

Morris D. Forkosch Prize

Deborah Cohen, Household Gods: The British and Their Possessions, Yale Univ. Press, 2006

Leo Gershoy Award

Richard B. Sher, The Enlightenment and the Book: Scottish Authors and Their Publishers in Eighteenth-Century Britain, Ireland, and America, Univ. of Chicago Press, 2006

Joan Kelly Memorial Prize in Women’s History

Mrinalini Sinha, Specters of Mother India: The Global Restructuring of an Empire, Duke Univ. Press, 2006

Littleton-Griswold Prize

Dalia Tsuk Mitchell, Architect of Justice: Felix S. Cohen and the Founding of Americam Legal Pluralism, Cornell Univ. Press, 2006

J. Russell Major Prize

Martha Hanna, Your Death Would Be Mine: Paul and Marie Pireaud in the Great War, Harvard Univ. Press, 2006

Helen and Howard R. Marraro Prize

John A. Davis, Naples and Napoleon: Southern Italy and the European Revolutions, 1780–1860, Oxford Univ. Press, 2006

George L. Mosse Prize

David Blackbourn, The Conquest of Nature: Water, Landscape, and the Making of Modern Germany, W.W. Norton, 2006

James A. Rawley Prize in Atlantic History

Sabine MacCormack, On the Wings of Time: Rome, the Incas, Spain, and Peru, Princeton Univ. Press (2006)

Wesley-Logan Prize

Rosanne Marion Adderley, "New Negroes from Africa": Slave Trade Abolition and Free African Settlement in the Nineteenth-Century Caribbean, Indiana Univ. Press, 2006

Sylviane A. Diouf, Dreams of Africa in Alabama: The Slave Ship Clotilda and the Story of the Last Africans Brought to America, Oxford Univ. Press, 2006

Presidential Address

After the presentation of awards and honors, AHA President Barbara Weinstein (New York Univ.) will deliver her presidential address, Developing Inequality. She writes:

For historians of Latin America, as well as for those who study Asia and Africa (a.k.a., the "developing countries"), the historical trajectory of "development" and "underdevelopment" and its implications for poverty and inequality had been, until recently, a theme that animated much of the research on the region. However, the very notion of development has fallen on hard times among historians as postmodern and poststructuralist critiques have made scholars across the disciplines skeptical of discourses that rely on linear notions of progress and on contrasts between the "modernity" of the West and the "backwardness" of the rest. Yet historical and geographical patterns of inequality have become, if anything, more dramatic over the past century, and particularly so in recent decades. Moreover, both those who have become richer and those who have become poorer mobilize explicitly historical explanations either to justify their greater prosperity or underscore the injustice of their poverty. Thus, even as many historians retreat from engagement with these issues, historical narratives continue to inform the way different groups explain the persistent inequalities both within and between regions. In this address, I will consider, first of all, the way in which the earlier focus on economic growth and development, even from a critical perspective, tended to reproduce discourses of modernity and backwardness that positioned North America/Western Europe as the models for modern societies. I will then explore, with particular reference to Brazil and its dramatic regional inequalities, how we might reconsider the causes and consequences of uneven development in light of recent turns in the historical profession and in ways that reposition these questions as central to historical scholarship without reviving discredited discourses of modernization and progress.

The Eugene Asher Distinguished Teaching Award will not be awarded this year.



Please read our commenting and letters policy before submitting.