Annual Meeting

Prizes, Awards, and Honors to Be Conferred

AHA | Nov 1, 2014

Various awards, prizes, and honors will be presented during the 129th annual meeting of the American Historical Association on Friday, January 2, 2015, from 7:30-8:30 p.m. in the Metropolitan Ballroom West at the Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel. The full citations of the prize and award committees will be printed in the booklet distributed during the awards ceremony, as well as in the February 2015 issue of Perspectives on History.

Awards for Scholarly and Professional Distinction

The Eugene Asher Distinguished Teaching Award

Clif Stratton (Washington State Univ.)

Awards for Scholarly Distinction

Keith Baker (Stanford Univ.); Susan Mann (Univ. of California, Davis); Jan Vansina (Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison)

The Beveridge Family Teaching Award

Elizabeth Bisnett, Tara Coppolo, Cathy DeWitt, Laura Gagnon, Susan Ginsburg, Jennifer Hanes, Pamela O’Connor, Meka Osterhoudt, Donna Pacatte, and Rosemary Peterson (Joseph B. Radez Elementary School, Richmondville, NY)

Equity Awards

Individual: Ernesto Chávez (Univ. of Texas at El Paso)

Institutional: Department of History, North Carolina Central University

The Herbert Feis Award

Naomi Oreskes (Harvard Univ.)

Honorary Foreign Member

Roger Chartier (Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales)

The Nancy Lyman Roelker Mentorship Award

Leonard Rosenband (Utah State Univ.)

The Roy Rosenzweig Prize for Innovation in Digital History

Civil War on the Western Border: The Missouri-Kansas Conflict, 1854-1865 (Kansas City Public Library)

Awards for Publications

The Herbert Baxter Adams Prize

Daniela Bleichmar (Univ. of Southern California), Visible Empire: Botanical Expeditions and Visual Culture in the Hispanic Enlightenment (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2012)

The George Louis Beer Prize

Mary Louise Roberts (Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison), What Soldiers Do: Sex and the American GI in World War II France (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2013)

The Jerry Bentley Prize

Gregory T. Cushman (Univ. of Kansas), Guano and the Opening of the Pacific World: A Global Ecological History (Cambridge Univ. Press, 2013)

The Albert J. Beveridge Award

Kate Brown (Univ. of Maryland, Baltimore County), Plutopia: Nuclear Families, Atomic Cities, and the Great Soviet and American Plutonium Disasters (Oxford Univ. Press, 2013)

The Paul Birdsall Prize

Jacob Darwin Hamblin (Oregon State Univ.), Arming Mother Nature: The Birth of Catastrophic Environmentalism (Oxford Univ. Press, 2013)

The James Henry Breasted Prize

Alex Mullen (All Souls Coll., Univ. of Oxford), Southern Gaul and the Mediterranean: Multilingualism and Multiple Identities in the Iron Age and Roman Periods (Cambridge Univ. Press, 2013)

The Albert Corey Prize

Lissa Wadewitz (Linfield Coll.), The Nature of Borders: Salmon, Boundaries, and Bandits on the Salish Sea (Univ. of Washington Press, 2012)

The Raymond J. Cunningham Prize

Jacob Anbinder (Yale Univ., BA 2014); Faculty Sponsor: Glenda E. Gilmore (Yale Univ.), “The South Shall Ride Again: The Origins of MARTA and the Making of the Urban South,” The Yale Historical Review, vol. 2, no. 3, pp. 37-57

The John K. Fairbank Prize in East Asian History

Charles K. Armstrong (Columbia Univ.), Tyranny of the Weak: North Korea and the World, 1950-1992 (Cornell Univ. Press, 2013)

The Morris D. Forkosch Prize

Deborah Cohen (Northwestern Univ.), Family Secrets: Shame and Privacy in Modern Britain (Oxford Univ. Press, 2013)

The Leo Gershoy Award

Andy Wood (Durham Univ.), The Memory of the People: Custom and Popular Senses of the Past in Early Modern England (Cambridge Univ. Press, 2013)

The William and Edwyna Gilbert Award

Lendol Calder (Augustana Coll.), “The Stories We Tell,” OAH Magazine of History, vol. 27, no. 3, pp. 5-8

The Friedrich Katz Prize

Piero Gleijeses (Johns Hopkins Univ.), Visions of Freedom: Havana, Washington, Pretoria, and the Struggle for Southern Africa, 1976-1991 (Univ. of North Carolina Press, 2013)

The Joan Kelly Memorial Prize in Women’s History

Afsaneh Najmabadi (Harvard Univ.), Professing Selves: Transsexuality and Same Sex-Desire in Contemporary Iran (Duke Univ. Press, 2013)

The Martin A. Klein Prize in African History

Allen Isaacman (Univ. of Minnesota) and Barbara Isaacman, Dams, Displacement, and the Delusion of Development: Cahora Bassa and Its Legacies in Mozambique, 1965-2007 (Ohio Univ. Press, 2013)

The Littleton-Griswold Prize

Michele Landis Dauber (Stanford Univ.), The Sympathetic State: Disaster Relief and the Origins of the American Welfare State (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2013)

The J. Russell Major Prize

Arlette Jouanna (University of Montpellier-III, France) and trans. Joseph Bergin (Univ. of Manchester), The St Bartholomew’s Day Massacre: The Mysteries of a Crime of State (Manchester Univ. Press, 2013)

The Helen & Howard R. Marraro Prize

Nicholas Terpstra (Univ. of Toronto), Cultures of Charity: Women, Politics, and the Reform of Poor Relief in Renaissance Italy (Harvard Univ. Press, 2013)

The George L. Mosse Prize

Derek Sayer (Lancaster Univ.), Prague, Capital of the Twentieth Century: A Surrealist History (Princeton Univ. Press, 2013)

The Premio del Rey

Janina M. Safran (Pennsylvania State Univ.), Defining Boundaries in al-Andalus: Muslims, Christians, and Jews in Islamic Iberia (Cornell Univ. Press, 2013)

The James A. Rawley Prize in Atlantic History

Aaron Spencer Fogleman (Northern Illinois Univ.), Two Troubled Souls: An Eighteenth-Century Couple’s Spiritual Journey in the Atlantic World (Univ. of North Carolina Press, 2013)

The John F. Richards Prize in South Asian History

Sunil S. Amrith (Birkbeck, Univ. of London), Crossing the Bay of Bengal: The Furies of Nature and the Fortunes of Migrants (Harvard Univ. Press, 2013)

The James Harvey Robinson Prize

Trevor R. Getz (San Francisco State Univ.) and illus. Liz Clarke, Abina and the Important Men: A Graphic History (Oxford Univ. Press, 2012)

The Wesley-Logan Prize

Jacob S. Dorman (Univ. of Kansas), Chosen People: The Rise of American Black Israelite Religions (Oxford Univ. Press, 2013)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.

The American Historical Association welcomes comments in the discussion area below, at AHA Communities, and in letters to the editor. Please read our commenting and letters policy before submitting.

Tags: Annual Meeting 2015 Annual Meeting


Please read our commenting and letters policy before submitting.