AHA Today

AHA Members among Newly Named Fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Elizabeth Elliott | Apr 29, 2015

On April 22, seven historians were elected into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the most prestigious American honorary societies. These historians are among a total of 197 new members that include many of the world’s renowned artists, scientists, and scholars.

“Each new member is a leader in his or her field and has made a distinct contribution to the nation and the world,” said Don Randel, chair of the academy’s Board of Directors. “We look forward to engaging them in the intellectual life of this vibrant institution.”

The academy also calls on its members to contribute to publications and independent policy research in order to provide “authoritative and nonpartisan policy advice to decision-makers in government, academia, and the private sector.”

The elected members in the history class include:

Ivan T. Berend, University of California, Los Angeles

Philip J. Deloria, University of Michigan, AHA member

David Eltis, Emory University

Gail Hershatter, University of California, Santa Cruz, AHA member

Allen F. Isaacman, University of Minnesota, 2014 AHA Klein Prize winner

James Kloppenberg, Harvard University, AHA life member

Peter Mandler, University of Cambridge

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on October 10 in Cambridge, Massachusetts. A full list of members is available here.

This post first appeared on AHA Today.

Tags: AHA Today Member News


Please read our commenting and letters policy before submitting.