Publication Date

March 4, 2015

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

The Nominating Committee for 2015–16, chaired by Takashi Fujitani (University of Toronto), met in Washington, DC, on February 6 and 7 and offers the following candidates for offices of the Association that are to be filled in the election this year.

Update 07/13/2015 – Voting will close this Wednesday, July 15. Members have received voting instructions and the link to the online ballot via email.

President (1-year term)

Patrick Manning, University of Pittsburgh (world, Africa and African diaspora)

President-elect (1-year term)

David B. Ruderman, University of Pennsylvania (early modern and modern Jewish, early modern European intellectual and cultural)

Tyler E. Stovall, University of California, Santa Cruz (modern France, African Americans in Europe, transnational history)

Vice President, Teaching Division (3-year term)

ElizabethA.Lehfeldt, Cleveland State University (gender and religion in late medieval and early modern Europe)

MeredithVeldman, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge (modern British religious culture)

Council/Divisions (3-year terms)

Councilor, Profession

Debjani Bhattacharyya, Drexel University (South Asia, economic, urban environmental)

Charles V. Reed, Elizabeth City State University (Britain, Africa, loyalty and citizenship, imperial culture)

Councilor, Research

Jeffrey L. Cox, University of Iowa (modern British social, religious, and imperial)

James H. Sweet, University of Wisconsin-Madison (African diaspora)

Councilor, Teaching

Jeffrey A. Bowman, Kenyon College (medieval Iberia, hagiography and the cult of saints, law and conflict in premodern Europe)

David Pace, Indiana University (scholarship of teaching and learning, modern Europe)

Committee on Committees (3-year term)

Antoinette M. Burton, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (British Empire, world)

MichaelKazin, Georgetown University (US social movements and politics, Reconstruction to present)

Nominating Committee (3-year terms)

Slot 1

William JelaniCobb, University of Connecticut, Storrs (20th-century African American history, Cold War)

WilliamDeverell, University of Southern California/Huntington Library (US West, environment)

Slot 2

Carter J Eckert, Harvard University (modern Korean history)

Kären E. Wigen, Stanford University (historical geography of East Asia, early modernity in Japan, historical cartography)

Slot 3

Joseph S. Meisel, Brown University (British politics and public culture)

Jamil S. Zainaldin, Georgia Humanities Council (law, philanthropy, public humanities)

Nominations may also be made by petition; each petition must carry the signatures of 100 or more members of the Association in good standing and indicate the particular vacancy for which the nomination is intended. Nominations by petition must be in the hands of the Nominating Committee on or before May 1, and should be sent to the AHA office at 400 A St. SE, Washington, DC 20003. All nominations must be accompanied by certification of willingness of the nominee to serve if elected. In distributing the annual ballot to the members of the Association, the Nominating Committee shall present and identify such candidates nominated by petition along with its own candidates. Balloting will begin June 1.

This post first appeared on AHA Today.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.