Publication Date

July 5, 2017

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

Through e-mail conversation from January 9, 2017, to May 12, 2017, and at meetings on June 3 and 4, 2017, the Council of the made the following decisions or actions: 

  • Approved the temporary suspension of the J. Franklin Jameson Fellowship due to lack of funding. [Note: Suspension was rescinded after guarantee of partial funding of the grant from the Library of Congress.]
  • Issued a statement condemning Executive Order #13769 restricting entry to the United States.
  • Approved the affiliated society application of the African American Intellectual History Society.
  • Approved a statement endorsing the March for Science on April 22.
  • Approved a statement based on a letter from AHA President Tyler Stovall to John Kelly, secretary of homeland security, and relevant committees of the House and Senate protesting the treatment of French historian Henry Rousso, who was detained at an airport in Texas while en route to present his research at a conference at Texas A&M University.
  • Approved a statement opposing the revised Executive Order (#13780) and criticizing the order’s use of historical evidence.
  • Approved signing onto a letter to members of the House and Senate Appropriations Committees from the Coalition for International Education protesting the administration’s proposal to reduce or eliminate funding for the US Department of Education’s International Education and Foreign Language Studies Programs.
  • Approved a letter to President János Áder of Hungary opposing legislation passed by the Hungarian Parliament that targets Central European University in Budapest.
  • Approved the affiliated society application of the Western Society for French History.
  • Appointed William F. Wechsler, Capitol Peak Asset Management, to serve on the Finance Committee.
  • Approved the Fiscal Year 2018 Operating Budget.
  • Approved the Fiscal Year 2018 Capital Budget.
  • Approved changes to the Clarence H. Haring Prize giving preference to books written in one of the languages of Latin America and to authors whose primary affiliation is to a Latin American institution.
  • Appointed Carina Ray, Brandeis University (Africa); Kenneth James Lipartito, Florida International University (Modern US); Heidi Tinsman, University of California, Irvine (Latin America); and Francesca Trivellato, Yale University (Early Modern Europe) to the Board of Editors of the American Historical Review.
  • Approved changes to the AHR Submission Policy, clarifying restrictions regarding content published elsewhere.
  • Approved the 2017 Awards for Scholarly Distinction. [Note: to be announced at a later date.]
  • Approved revisions to the AHA’s Guiding Principles on Taking a Public Stand.
  • Approved the addition of Bylaw 13 in the AHA Bylaws, which outlines procedures for removal of unresponsive committee members.
  • Approved a change to Bylaw 15 in the AHA Bylaws allowing for Council to approve exceptions to the start date of committee terms.
  • Approved an exception to the start date of Committee on Committees members so that terms would begin immediately after the AHA election.
  • Approved changes to the Tenure, Promotion, and the Publicly Engaged Academic Historian
  • Approved changes to the Statement on Dual Enrollment/Concurrent Enrollment.
  • Approved changes to the Raymond J. Cunningham Prize eligibility criteria eliminating language limiting submissions to articles only from “history department journals.”
  • Approved changes to the submissions process for the Eugene Asher Award and Beveridge Family Teaching Prize, which streamline procedures to mirror those of the AHA’s other professional awards.
  • Approved the allocation of Gilbert Prize Funds for costs associated with the development of articles on teaching history in AHA publications.
  • Approved changes to the committee structure of the Committee on Affiliated Societies.
  • Approved changes to the policies for affiliation with the to expand eligibility requirements and clarify the process by which organizations apply to affiliate with the AHA.
  • Approved changing the name of the Committee on Women Historians to the Committee on Gender Equity.
  • Approved changes to the committee purpose for the Committee on Gender Equity.
  • Approved waiving membership requirements for undergraduate poster presenters at the AHA annual meeting.
  • Approved the January 2017 meeting minutes.
  • Ratified online votes and actions from January through May 2017.
  • Approved the following nominations to the 2019 Program Committee: Emily Clark, Tulane University (colonial US, Atlantic world); Evan Dawley, Goucher College (China, Taiwan, Japan, diplomatic); Durba Ghosh, Cornell University (South Asia, gender); Julie Golia, Brooklyn Historical Society (public, US, press); Ken Osgood, Colorado School of Mines (20th-century US, political); Amy Powers, Waubonsee Community College (US, world, gender); Elizabeth Robbins, Lindblom Math and Science Academy (US, world); and Tim Smit, Eastern Kentucky University (medieval, Mediterranean).
  • Approved the nomination of 2019 Local Arrangements Committee co-chair, Frank Valadez, American Bar Association.

This post first appeared on AHA Today.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.