AHA Today

Grant of the Week: Johnson Program for First Book Authors

Zoe Jackson | May 30, 2018

Every week, AHA Today showcases a new grant, fellowship, or scholarship of interest to historians which has been posted to our free Calendar. This week we are featuring the Johnson Program for First Book Authors, sponsored by the American Society for Legal History. 

The American Society for Legal History (ASLH) announces a new program designed to provide advice and support to scholars working toward the publication of first books in legal history, broadly defined. In conversation with peers and with the advice of senior scholars, participants will develop and revise book proposals and sample chapters, and they will meet with guest editors to learn about approaching and working with publishers.

Applications for Johnson Fellows are invited from early career, pre-tenure scholars, publishing in English, who have completed PhDs or JDs and are working on first books in legal history. Scholars with expertise in all chronological periods and geographical fields are encouraged to apply, as are students who may not (yet) identify as legal historians.

The Johnson Program will begin in November, 2018 at the ASLH Annual Meeting in Houston and will include two in-person workshops and one remote consultation on work-in-progress:

  • November 8, 2018: One-day workshop at the ASLH Annual Meeting (Houston, TX), introduction to book publishing and prospectus writing;
  • Spring 2019 (date TBD): Remote meeting, peer and senior scholar feedback on draft prospectus; and
  • Summer 2019 (July 26-27): Two-day workshop on draft chapters, University of Pennsylvania Law School.

The 2018-19 Johnson Program will be led by Professor Reuel Schiller, with the participation of other senior legal historians. Participants must commit to participation in all three meetings. The program will include up to 5 Fellows and will provide substantial funding for travel and accommodation.

The application deadline is June 30, 2018Applicants should submit (as a single document Times New Roman, 12 point font):

  • cover letter (single spaced, not exceeding two pages) describing the applicant’s professional trajectory to date and reasons for interest in the Johnson Program;
  • curriculum vitae (including contact information);
  • project abstract (single spaced; up to 100 words)
  • project description (single spaced; not exceeding 750 words) organized with the following sections and headings: Introduction, Significance, Design and Methodology, Chapter Outline, Plans for Revision and Progress to Date.
  • two letters of recommendation from faculty members, at least one of whom should have been a major advisor of the project (sent separately from the other materials).

All materials should be submitted to Barbara Welke (welke004@umn.edu), Chair, University of Minnesota by June 30, 2018.

The 2018 Johnson Program for First Book Authors Committee

Barbara Young Welke, Chair, University of Minnesota welke004@umn.edu
Lauren Benton, Vanderbilt University, lauren.benton@vanderbilt.edu
Sam Erman, USC Gould School of Law, serman@law.usc.edu
Kurt Graham, NARA, kurt.graham@nara.gov
Reuel Schiller, UC Hastings College of Law, schiller@uchastings.edu
Rayman Solomon, University of Rutgers-Camden School of Law, raysol@camlaw.rutgers.edu
Matthew Sommer, Stanford University, msommer@stanford.edu

Applicants will be notified by July 30, 2018. Please direct any questions to Barbara Welke.

End: June 30, 2018
Contact: welke004@umn.edu

This post first appeared on AHA Today.

Tags: AHA Today Grant of the Week Legal History


Please read our commenting and letters policy before submitting.