AHA Activities

2018 AHA Nominations

Compiled by Liz Townsend | Apr 2, 2018

Vote in the 2018 AHA elections starting June 1. depositphotosThe Nominating Committee for 2018–19, chaired by William Deverell (Univ. of Southern California), met in Washington, DC, on February 9 and offers the following candidates for offices of the Association that are to be filled in the election this year. Voting by AHA members will begin June 1.


John R. McNeill, Georgetown University (environmental, world)


Mary Lindemann, University of Miami (early modern Europe, medicine)

Teofilo F. Ruiz, University of California, Los Angeles (medieval and early modern Spain and Mediterranean)

Professional Division


Patrick Griffin, University of Notre Dame (Ireland and Britain, early America, Atlantic)

Nerina Rustomji, St. John’s University, New York (Middle East, Islamic world)

Research Division


Christopher R. Boyer, University of Illinois at Chicago (environmental and social history of Mexico)

Ben Vinson III, George Washington University (colonial Mexico, African diaspora)

Teaching Division

Vice President

Laura McEnaney, Whittier College (World War II and postwar, working class/gender/race)

Tammy M. Proctor, Utah State University (20th-century Europe, war, gender, youth)


John Bezis-Selfa, Wheaton College, Massachusetts (US Latino/a, the Americas, US West)

Alexandra Hui, Mississippi State University (European science and culture, modern Germany, sensory and environment)

Nominating Committee

Slot 1

Daniel Greene, Northwestern University and guest curator, US Holocaust Memorial Museum (public history/museums, Holocaust/American response)

Brandon L. Johnson, New Mexico Humanities Council (US West, military)

Slot 2

Timothy J. Gilfoyle, Loyola University Chicago (19th-century US social, urban)

Karin Wulf, Omohundro Institute of Early American History & Culture, College of William & Mary (early America, women and gender, family)

Slot 3

Tonio A. Andrade, Emory University (China, global, early modern European colonialism)

Akiko Takenaka, University of Kentucky (Japanese war responsibility/reconciliation, cultural heritage, gender)

Nominations may also be made by petition; each petition must carry the signatures of 100 or more members of the Association in good standing and indicate the particular vacancy for which the nomination is intended. Nominations by petition must be in the hands of the Nominating Committee on or before May 1 and should be sent to the AHA office at 400 A St. SE, Washington, DC 20003. All nominations must be accompanied by certification of the willingness of the nominee to serve if elected. In distributing the annual ballot to the members of the Association, the Nominating Committee shall present and identify such candidates nominated by petition along with its own candidates.

Liz Townsend is coordinator, data administration and integrity, at the AHA.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.

The American Historical Association welcomes comments in the discussion area below, at AHA Communities, and in letters to the editor. Please read our commenting and letters policy before submitting.

Tags: AHA Activities


Please read our commenting and letters policy before submitting.