AHA Today

American Academy of Arts and Sciences Announces Its 2014 Class of New Members

Liz Townsend | Apr 30, 2014

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences announced its 2014 class of new members, which includes leaders in the sciences, social sciences, humanities, arts, business, public affairs, and the nonprofit sector. Thirteen AHA members* and historians were elected to the academy this year, joining other luminaries such as John Irving, Annie Proulx, A. S. Byatt, Robert Reich, and Al Pacino. The academy membership encompasses over 4,600 fellows and 600 foreign honorary members and reflects the full range of disciplines and professions. The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on October 11, 2014, at the Academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Congratulations to all!American-Academy-AS

Catherine L. Albanese*, University of California, Santa Barbara

Nicholas B. Dirks, University of California, Berkeley

Arthur Fine, University of Washington

Andrew David Gordon*, Harvard University

Adam Hochschild, San Francisco, California, winner of the 2008 AHA Theodore Roosevelt-Woodrow Wilson Award

Mary C. Kelley*, University of Michigan

Jill Lepore, Harvard University/The New Yorker

Edward Wallace Muir Jr.*, Northwestern University

Susan Naquin*, Princeton University

Peter S. Onuf, University of Virginia/Thomas Jefferson Foundation

William M. Reddy*, Duke University

Londa L. Schiebinger*, Stanford University

John Fabian Witt*, Yale University

This post first appeared on AHA Today.

Tags: AHA Today Member News


Please read our commenting and letters policy before submitting.