Publication Date

December 19, 2011

Roosevelt Wilson AwardJudge Diane P. Wood will accept the eighth Theodore Roosevelt-Woodrow Wilson Public Service Award on behalf of the recipient, Sandra Day O’Connor, Associate Justice, Supreme Court of the United States (retired), at the AHA’s 126th annual meeting in Chicago.

Since her retirement in 2006 Justice O’Connor has tirelessly promoted public understanding and teaching of history through civics (and civics through history), especially at the secondary school level. She has consistently placed historical knowledge and understanding at the center of civic competency, and argued that the ability of citizens to guide their society thoughtfully into the future depends on actively educating people about their history.

The presentation of the Theodore Roosevelt-Woodrow Wilson Public Service Award will take place during the General Meeting on Friday, January 6, beginning at 8:30 p.m. in the Sheraton Chicago Hotel & Towers, Chicago Ballroom VI.

Please note, the Roosevelt-Wilson award was originally scheduled to be presented on Thursday, January 5, and appears that way in the print Program. The Plenary Session on Thursday, January 5 will begin a 8:00 p.m.

This post first appeared on AHA Today.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.