Publication Date

July 17, 2007

Perspectives Section


Past AHA President and Civil War historian James McPherson has been awarded the first ever Pritzker Military Library Literature Award for lifetime achievement in military writing. The award will be presented on October 6, 2007, in Chicago. McPherson will also be granted a $100,000 honorarium, sponsored by the Tawani Foundation. James N. Pritzker, founder of the Pritzker Military Library, explains that the award is given, “to acknowledge the highest levels of scholarship and writing in a field that often does not gain appropriate recognition.” McPherson is a prolific writer, and was recognized with the Pulitzer Prize in 1989 for Battle Cry of Freedom: The Civil War Era. Read more about the Pritzker award at the Washington Postor on the Pritzker Military Library web site.

This post first appeared on AHA Today.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.