Publication Date

February 5, 2024

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

Through email communications from June 8 to December 19, 2023; at a videoconference meeting held on October 11, 2023; and at meetings on January 4 and 7, 2024, the Council of the American Historical Association took the following actions:

  • Sent a letter to the Museum of the American Revolution asking that the museum “reconsider its decision to rent event space to Moms for Liberty as part of that organization’s Joyful Warriors National Summit.”
  • Signed on to the American Council of Learned Societies’ Statement on SCOTUS Ruling on Affirmative Action.
  • Sent a letter to the president of New College of Florida expressing concern over the college’s decision not to renew the contract of Erik Wallenberg, a visiting assistant professor of history.
  • Appointed Antoine Borrut (Univ. of Maryland) as American Historical Review (AHR) Associate Review Editor for a term ending in June 2026, and approved the extension by one year through June 2024 the terms of Associate Review Editors Monica Black (Univ. of Tennessee, Knoxville) and Brandon Byrd (Vanderbilt Univ.).
  • Issued the Statement on Florida’s African American History Standards opposing new K–12 African American history standards in Florida for “promulgating a history curriculum that hides central elements of our nation’s past.”
  • Appointed the following members of the 2025 Annual Meeting Program Committee: Saheed Aderinto (Florida International Univ.), James Ambuske (Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media), Adriana Chira (Emory Univ.), Jelani Favors (North Carolina A&T State Univ.), Kendra Taira Field (Tufts Univ.), and Wendy Singer (Kenyon Coll.).
  • Appointed the following AHR Associate Review Editors for terms ending in June 2026: Emily Conroy-Krutz (Michigan State Univ.), Ronald Po (London School of Economics), and Theodora Dragostinova (Ohio State Univ.).
  • Signed on to a letter from the American Philosophical Association and other scholarly societies urging leadership at State University of New York (SUNY) at Potsdam “to reconsider SUNY Potsdam’s recently announced Financial Sustainability Plan.”
  • Approved Julieanna Richardson, founder and executive director of The HistoryMakers, to receive the John Lewis Award for Public Service to the Discipline of History.
  • Approved policies for retention and disposal of AHR records.
  • Approved the Dan David Foundation as an AHA affiliate.
  • Approved the creation of a prize in historical podcasting, with staff authorized to develop the details of the description with the donor.
  • Approved Michael Les Benedict (Ohio State Univ.) to receive the Troyer Steele Anderson Award.
  • Appointed the following AHR Associate Review Editors for terms ending in June 2026: E. Taylor Atkins (Northern Illinois Univ.), Robin Chapdelaine (Stanford Univ.), Kwame Essien (Lehigh Univ.), Rochona Majumdar (Univ. of Chicago), Martin Shanguhyia (Syracuse Univ.), and Abigail Swingen (Texas Tech Univ.).
  • Appointed Teresa Ann Barnes (Univ of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign) as AHR Associate Review Editor for a term ending in June 2027.
  • Approved the minutes of the June 2023 Council meeting and the October 2023 videoconference meeting.
  • Approved the interim minutes of the Council from June through December 2023.
  • Approved the appointments recommended by the 2024 Committee on Committees.
  • Approved rules guiding the discussion and voting of the AHA Business Meeting Resolution at the 2024 annual meeting.
  • Approved changes to Bylaw 12, pursuant to Article VII, Section 4a, to clarify timing of collection of signatories for business meeting resolutions.
  • Approved the extension of the Digital History Working Group and the NARA Review Committee to January 2027.
  • Approved the nomination of the 2024 Honorary Foreign Member (to be announced in fall 2024).
  • Approved the nomination for the 2025 James M. Banner, Jr., Lecture (to be announced in fall 2024).
  • Appointed Geraldo L. Cadava (Northwestern Univ.) as chair and Katharina Matro (Walter Johnson High School) as co-chair of the 2026 Annual Meeting Program Committee.
  • Approved changes to the Guidelines on Accessible Publishing, Guidelines Regarding Transparency in Career Entry Point Records for Recipients of Graduate Degrees, Guidelines for Family/Partner Hiring, and Guidelines for Academic Tenure-Track Job Offers in History.
  • Approved the continuation of a “read and publish” option with Oxford University Press for the AHR.
  • Appointed Edward Muir (Northwestern Univ., AHA past president) as chair and Sandra Greene (Cornell Univ., AHA Council member), Joshua Reid (Univ. of Washington, former AHA Council member), Vicki Ruiz (Univ. of California, Irvine, former AHA president), and Dana Schaffer (AHA deputy director) as members of the Executive Director Search Committee.
  • Approved removing the names of the George Louis Beer Prize and the James Henry Breasted Prize.
  • Approved renaming the Albert J. Beveridge Award to the Beveridge Family Prize in American History.
  • Approved the creation of an Ad Hoc Working Group on Small Liberal Arts Colleges and an Ad Hoc Working Group on K–12 Teaching.
  • Approved changes to the Member Forum guidelines.
  • Received the audit for fiscal year 2023.
  • Approved a template for the letters the AHA sends as part of its Freedom to Learn initiative.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.