AHA Activities

John Edwin Fagg Prize Discontinued

AHA Staff, January 2011

The Association will be conferring the last John Edwin Fagg Prize—instituted a decade ago to recognize the best publication in the history of Spain and Latin America—at the 2011 Annual Meeting.

The prize was established by a bequest from John Fagg, who taught Latin American history at New York University from 1945 to 1981. His bequest for the prize was not enough for a permanent endowment for a prize. But recognizing the need for an AHA prize specifically for Latin American history, the AHA Council accepted the funds Fagg donated to establish an annual prize to be conferred over a 10-year period, which has now come to an end.

The Association still confers two awards that are open to work in Latin American history—the Albert J. Beveridge Award (which covers all regions of the Western hemisphere), and the Clarence H. Haring Prize (for a Latin American who has published the most outstanding book in Latin American history). The Association welcomes any interest in establishing or fundraising for a prize specifically in Latin American history to replace the Fagg Prize. Expressions of interest should be sent to the AHA Research Division by e-mail to Robert Townsend.