Publication Date

May 4, 2017

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities, Perspectives Daily

AHA Topic

Career Paths


  • United States


Teaching Methods

The AHA is pleased to announce the participants of our 2017–18 Career Diversity for Historians Faculty Institutes. One of the most important lessons of the pilot phase of our Career Diversity initiative is that the skills necessary to prepare students for careers outside the professoriate are also essential to the work of faculty in 21st-century higher education. This insight provides the framework for the next phase of Career Diversity, which begins by gathering faculty from 36 departments across the country to foster a discussion on emerging models for integrating Career Diversity into doctoral education and to provide an overview of available resources that can help departments lay the groundwork for changes in graduate curriculum and programming. Faculty participants will emerge from the institutes with tools to begin conversations with their colleagues about the purpose of their department’s history PhD program, the relationship between that purpose and the actual career paths of degree recipients, and the implications of each of these for cultural change and program structure.

More information about the Faculty Institutes and the AHA’s Career Diversity initiative can be found online.

Congratulations to the participating departments and faculty:

Brown University: Rebecca Nedostup, Robert Self, Caroline Castiglione
Georgetown University: Katie Benton-Cohen, Bryan McCann, Adam Rothman
Georgia State University: Denise Davidson, Michelle Brattain, Alex Cummings
Graduate Center, CUNY: Herman L. Bennett, Jennifer Furlong, Helena Rosenblatt, Andrew Robertson
Iowa State University: Simon Cordery, Pamela Riney-Kehrberg, Kathleen Hilliard
Loyola University Chicago: Patricia Mooney-Melvin, Kyle Roberts, Stephen Schloesser
Michigan State University: Michael Stamm, Walter Hawthorne, Dean Rehberger, Pero Dagbovie, Karrin Hanshew
Northwestern University: Kate Masur, Ken Alder, Scott Sowerby
Southern Illinois University Carbondale: Holly Hurlburt, Ras Michael Brown, Jonathan Wiesen
St. John’s University: Nerina Rustomji, Dolores Augustine, Kristin Szylvian, Lara Vapnek
Stony Brook University: Jennifer L. Anderson, Paul Gootenberg, Shobana Shankar
Texas A&M University: Lorien Foote, David Vaught, Adam Seipp, Kate Unterman
Texas Christian University: Rebecca Sharpless, Jodi Campbell, Peter Worthing
University at Buffalo: Kristin Stapleton, Victoria Wolcott, Gail Radford
University of California, Berkeley: Mark Peterson, Margaret Chowning, James Vernon, Elena Schneider, Cathryn Carson
University of California, Davis: Ellen Hartigan-O’Connor, Edward Dickinson, Lorena Oropeza
University of California, Irvine: David Igler, Kavita Philip, Laura J. Mitchell
University of California, Santa Barbara: Salim Yaqub, Sharon Farmer, Alice O’Connor
University of Chicago: Ken Pomeranz, Emilio Kouri, Brodie Fischer
University of Connecticut: Mark Healey, Chris Clark, Sylvia Schafer
University of Florida: Sean Adams, Michelle Campos, Nina Caputo
University of Illinois at Chicago: Christopher Boyer, Malgorzata Fidelis, Robert Johnston
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign: Mark Steinberg, Clare Crowston, Antoinette Burton
University of Michigan: Rita Chin, Geoff Eley, Jay Cook, Matthew Countryman
University of Missouri–Kansas City: John Herron, Diane Mutti Burke, Chris Cantwell, Sandra Enriquez, Brian Frehner
University of New Mexico: Melissa Bokovoy, Enrique Sanabria, Sarah Davis-Secord
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: Fitz Brundage, Sarah Shields, Michelle King
University of Pittsburgh: Lara Putnam, Michel Gobat, Holger Hoock
University of South Florida: Julie Langford, Michael Decker, David K. Johnson
University of Tennessee, Knoxville: Ernest Freeberg, Denise Phillips, Luke Harlow
University of Texas at Austin: Alison Frazier, Jackie Jones, Jeremi Suri
University of Texas at El Paso: Jeffrey P. Shepherd, Sam Brunk, Yolanda Leyva
University of Utah: Eric Hinderaker, Paul Reeve, Matt Basso, Greg Smoak
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee: Amanda I. Seligman, Joseph Rodriguez, Chia Youyee Vang
Wayne State University: Elizabeth Faue, Eric Ash, Tracy Neumann
West Virginia University: Joseph M. Hodge, Kate Staples, Brian Luskey, Melissa Bingmann

This post first appeared on AHA Today.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.