Publication Date

March 1, 2017

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

Compiled by Liz Townsend

The Nominating Committee for 2017–18, chaired by Jana Lipman (Tulane Univ.), met in Washington, DC, on February 10 and 11 and offers the following candidates for offices of the Association that are to be filled in the election this year. Voting by AHA members will begin June 1. 

Mary Beth Norton, Cornell University (early Anglo-American gender and politics)

Jeremy I. Adelman, Princeton University (Latin America, global)
John R. McNeill, Georgetown University (environmental, world)

Professional Division
Mary Elliott, National Museum of African American History and Culture (African American, migration and community development)
Julie A. Golia, Brooklyn Historical Society (20th-century US gender and media, public)

Research Division
Vice President
Sophia Rosenfeld, University of Pennsylvania (Enlightenment, Age of Revolutions, political thought, historical methods)
John Voll, Georgetown University (modern Islam, world history conceptualizations)

Melissa K. Bokovoy, University of New Mexico (Yugoslavia and memory, collectivization and eastern Europe)
Miranda D. Brown, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor (ancient China, Chinese science)

Teaching Division
Matthew Cone, Carrboro High School (race and the justice system, economic development)
Michele A. Fichera, San Mateo Union High School District (professional development, social science)

At Large
Caroline Marris, Columbia University (early modern Europe and Atlantic)
Sarah Mellors, University of California, Irvine (modern China, gender and sexuality, medicine, world)

Committee on Committees
Slot 1
Christian Ayne Crouch, Bard College (New France, Atlantic world, indigenous studies, forms of colonial violence)
Jennifer L. Palmer, University of Georgia (18th-century French slavery/race/gender)

Slot 2
Madeline Y. Hsu, University of Texas, Austin (migration and transnationalism, international, Asian American studies, modern China)
Bryant Simon, Temple University (20th-century United States, food studies, political economy)

Nominating Committee
Slot 1
Tim Borstelmann, University of Nebraska, Lincoln (US international, 20th century)
Kathleen Brosnan, University of Oklahoma (environmental, transnational history of wine)

Slot 2
Lyman L. Johnson, University of North Carolina, Charlotte (late colonial Río de la Plata and Atlantic)
Gabriel Paquette, Johns Hopkins University (Spain and Portugal and their colonies, comparative imperial)

Slot 3
Carin Berkowitz, Chemical Heritage Foundation (modern British and American medical sciences and visual culture)
Malcolm Richardson, independent scholar, NEH retired (US philanthropy, 20th-century Europe)

Nominations may also be made by petition; each petition must carry the signatures of 100 or more members of the Association in good standing and indicate the particular vacancy for which the nomination is intended. Nominations by petition must be in the hands of the Nominating Committee on or before May 1, and should be sent to the AHA office at 400 A St. SE, Washington, DC 20003. All nominations must be accompanied by certification of willingness of the nominee to serve if elected. In distributing the annual ballot to the members of the Association, the Nominating Committee shall present and identify such candidates nominated by petition along with its own candidates.

This post first appeared on AHA Today.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.