AHA Today

New Fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences Include Historians

AHA Staff | May 1, 2007

AHA members Isabel V. Hull (Cornell Univ.), Sabine G. MacCormack (Univ. of Notre Dame), Peter C. Perdue (MIT), and life member David J. Weber (Southern Methodist Univ.) are among the nine historians who were elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, which announced the class of 2007 fellows and honorary foreign members yesterday (April 30, 2007).

Former AHA Council member Nell Irvin Painter (Princeton Univ.), who received the Nancy Lyman Roelker Mentorship Award of the AHA for 2000; David Gordon Blackbourn (Harvard Univ.); Evelyn Fox Keller (MIT); E. Roger Owen (Harvard Univ.); Martin J. Sherwin (Tufts Univ.); and Aldo Schiavone (Univ. of Florence, Italy), who was elected as an honorary foreign member, are the other historians who were honored by the academy’s election.

The 203 fellows and 24 honorary foreign members elected this year were drawn from 27 states and 13 countries, and range in age from 36 to 92, according to the academy’s announcement. Represented among this year’s newly elected class are 70 universities, more than a dozen corporations, as well as museums, research institutes, media outlets and foundations.

The academy will welcome the new fellows at its annual induction ceremony scheduled to be held on October 6, 2007, at the academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

This post first appeared on AHA Today.

Tags: AHA Today Member News


Please read our commenting and letters policy before submitting.