Publication Date

November 1, 2005

The American Historical Association is pleased to announce the following awards, honors, and prizes, which will be presented at the General Meeting to be held on Friday, January 6, 2006, during the 120th Annual Meeting

Awards for Scholarly Distinction

  • Lawrence W. Levine of the University of California at Berkeley
  • Nancy G. Siraisi of Hunter College, CUNY
  • David Underdown of Yale University

Troyer Steele Anderson Prize

  • Stanley N. Katz of Princeton University

Eugene Asher Distinguished Teaching Award

  • Eileen Scully of Bennington College

The Beveridge Family Teaching Prize (K–12)

  • The American History Team (Laurie Fischer, Ronald C. Maggiano, Margaret Mey, Tamara Ogden, and James Percoco ) of West Springfield High School, Springfield, Virginia

The William Gilbert Award for the Best Article on Teaching History

  • Mark C. Carnes, the Ann Whitney Olin Professor of History at Barnard College, for his article, “Inciting Speech,” in Change, March/April 2005

The Nancy Lyman Roelker Mentorship Award

  • John F. Howes of the University of British Columbia, emeritus
  • Mary Logan Rothschild of Arizona State University

Honorary Foreign Member

  • Nikolai Nikolaevich Bolkhovitinov of the Institute of World History, Russian Academy of Sciences

Third Annual Theodore Roosevelt-Woodrow Wilson Public Service Award

  • Steven Spielberg, founding chairman, Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation

Note: The 18 book prizes and one film prize will be announced in the December issue of Perspectives.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.