Publication Date

October 1, 1989

Perspectives Section


Former Librarian of Congress Daniel Boorstin was one of five awarded the newly created Charles Frankel Prize from the National Endowment for the Humanities. The prize honors Americans for their efforts to bring history, literature, and other humanities disciplines to the general public.

The American Military Institute awarded its prize for the best article on colonial military history to John L. Bullion, University of Missouri, Columbia for his essay, “Security and Economy: The Bute Administration’s Plans for an American Army and Revenue, 1762-1763,” The William and Mary Quarterly, 1988.

The National Humanities Center named W. Robert Connor, professor of classics and chair, Council of the Humanities, Princeton University, as president and director of the National Humanities Center.

Kathleen M. Dalton was appointed to the Cecil F.P.Bancroft Endowed Teaching Foundation Chair at Phillips Academy.

The Historical Society of Western Pennsylvania named Dean A. Herrin, as its new curator of industrial history.

Daniel W. Howe, professor of history, University of California, Los Angeles was awarded the American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies’ Clifford Prize for his article, “The Political Psychology of The Federalist,” The William and Mary Quarterly, 1987.

American University appointed Nathan I. Huggins, W.E.B. DuBois Professor of History and Afro-American Studies, Harvard University as its Landmarks Scholar in History for spring 1990.

Paul L. Krause, assistant professor, University of British Columbia, was awarded the 1988 Solon J. Buck Award from the Historical Society of Western Pennsylvania for his article, “Patronage and Philanthropy in Industrial America: Andrew Carnegie and the Free Library in Braddock, Pennsylvania,” Western Pennsylvania Historical Magazine, 1988.

David E. Leary was appointed Dean, Faculty of Arts and Sciences, University of Richmond.

Jean Butenhoff Lee, assistant professor of history, University of Wisconsin, Madison has accepted the directorship of the Institute of Early American History and Culture.

The Center for Historic Preservation, Mary Washington College awarded its 1989 Historic Preservation Book Prize to David Lowenthal, chair, geography, University College, London for his book, The Past is a Foreign Country, Cambridge University Press.

Frances Malino, professor of history, University of Massachusetts, Boston was named the first holder of the newly-created chair in Jewish Studies at Wellesley College.

James M. McPherson, professor of history, Princeton University received a Pulitzer Prize for his 1988 book, Battle Cry of Freedom: The Civil War Era.

Standish Meacham, professor of history, University of Texas, Austin has accepted the position of Dean of the College of Liberal Arts at the University of Texas.

Thomas E. Mullen, dean, Wake Forest University has been appointed to a three-year term on the Commission on Policy Analysis of the National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities.

Trudy Peterson, National Archives and Records Administration was elected 1989–90 vice president of the Society of American Archivists. She will assume the Society’s presidency in 1990.

The Southeastern American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies awarded Jeremy Popkin, professor of history, University of Kentucky, its 1988 Article Prize for his work, “The Pre-Revolutionary Origins of Political Journalism,” The French Revolution and the Creation of Modern Political Culture, Oxford: Pergamon, 1987.

Wayne State University’s Walter P. Reuther Library of Labor and Urban Affairs awarded a Rockefeller Residency in Humanities Fellowship to Margaret Rose, visiting professor of history, California State University, Bakersfield.

Margaret Rossiter, author of Women Scientists in America, was one of twenty-nine who received a MacArthur Foundation Prize.

Jeffrey K. Stine was named curator of engineering at the Smithsonian Institution’s Museum of American History.

Judith Walkowitz, professor of history, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, has been appointed to direct a new women’s studies program at The Johns Hopkins University. She has also been named a professor in the university’s history department.

Robert Weible has been selected as new chief of the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission’s Division of History.