Publication Date

October 1, 2009

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

Under the AHA constitution and bylaws (Article VIII, Section 1; Article IX; and Bylaws 11 and 12), the executive director invites all members of the Association to submit to her, on or before January 8, 2010, recommendations for the following offices:

President-elect (by rotation, U.S. as the teaching/research field)

Vice President of the Professional Division (member of the Council, oversight of the division)

Councilor Professional, one position (Council—governance of the organization; division—rights and responsibilities of historians, professional conduct, job market, data collection and analysis, and professional service prize)

Councilor Research, one position (Council—governance of the organization; division—priorities in support of research and new research tools, relationships with archivists, librarians, and other organizations, policy oversight of research grants and fellowships, book prizes, AHR, and annual meeting).

Councilor Teaching, one position (Council—governance of the organization; division—teaching in AHA activities and publications, history curriculum, new methods of instruction and cooperation, history education, and pamphlets, and policy oversight of teaching prizes)

Committee on Committees, one position (nominations for large number of Association committees, including book awards and prizes, delegates)

Nominating Committee, three positions (nominations for all elective posts)

All suggestions received will be forwarded to the Nominating Committee for consideration at its meeting January 30–31, 2010. Present membership of the Council and elective committees is as follows with open positions indicated by the year (terms expire in January) and name inbold blue lettering:


  • 2010 Gabrielle M. Spiegel, Johns Hopkins Univ. (medieval, with a special interest in historiography and linguistic analysis, medieval and contemporary), immediate past president
  • 2011 Laurel Thatcher Ulrich, Harvard Univ. (early America, comparative women’s, material culture), president
  • 2012 Barbara Metcalf, Univ. of California at Davis emerita (modern South Asian history, Indo-Muslim history, Islam), president-elect
  • 2010 Karen Halttunen, Univ. of Southern California (U.S. cultural and intellectual), vice president, Teaching Division
  • 2011 David J. Weber, Southern Methodist Univ. (borderlands, American West, Latin America), vice president, Professional Division
  • 2012 Iris Berger, Univ at Albany-SUNY (Africa, comparative women’s, labor and working-class), vice president, Research Division

At-large Members

  • 2010 Jesus Francisco Malaret, Sacramento City Coll. (U.S., with Latin American and Chicano)
  • 2010 Larry Wolff, NYU (eastern Europe, Enlightenment, Poland, Habsburg monarchy, early modern Rome and Venice, history of childhood)
  • 2011 Trudy Huskamp Peterson, consulting archivist and independent scholar (archives, agricultural, human rights)
  • 2011 Prasenjit Duara, National Univ. of Singapore (modern China, East Asia, nationalism, imperialism, trans-nationalism, historiography and historical pedagogy)

Councilor Profession

  • 2012 Sarah Maza, Northwestern Univ. (19th- and 20th-century France, methodology)

Councilor Research

  • 2012 John K. Thornton, Boston Univ. (Africa, Atlantic, world)

Councilor Teaching

  • 2012 Barbara L. Tischler, Horace Mann School, NY (American cultural, the 1960s, women’s, labor, teaching practice)



  • 2010 Leisa D. Meyer, Coll. of William and Mary (gender and sexuality studies, U. S. women, American popular culture and cultural history)
  • 2011 Kristin L. Ahlberg, U.S. Dept. of State (U.S. diplomatic/foreign relations, presidency, foreign assistance policy, public, twentieth century, cultural, documentary editing)
  • 2012 Sarah Maza


  • 2010 Clayborne Carson, Martin Luther King, Jr., Research and Education Institute, Stanford Univ. (African American history of the period after World War II)
  • 2011 Mary Elizabeth Berry, Univ. of California at Berkeley (medieval and early modern Japan, warfare and violence, urban, print culture, economic thought and consumption)
  • 2012 John K. Thornton


  • 2010 Patricia O’Neill, Central Oregon Community Coll. (18th-century comparative Chinese-European)
  • 2011 Timothy N. Thurber, Virginia Commonwealth Univ. (U. S. post-World War II, African American)
  • 2012 Barbara L. Tischler


Committee on Committees

  • 2010 R. Stephen Humphreys, Univ. of California at Santa Barbara (Islamic and Middle East, religion and politics in the modern Islamic world)
  • 2011 Christopher Leslie Brown, Columbia Univ. (early imperial and 18th-century Britain, comparative slavery and abolition, Atlantic, American revolution)
  • 2012 Lloyd S. Kramer, Univ. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (modern European cultural and intellectual history with an emphasis on 19th-century France)
  • 2012 Kriste Lindenmeyer, Univ. of Maryland Baltimore County (U.S. social with an emphasis on public policy, the history of childhood, and women and gender during the late 19th and early 20th centuries)

Nominating Committee

  • 2010 Laura Ackerman Smoller, Univ. of Arkansas at Little Rock (medieval, science and medicine, religion, astrology, apocalyptic thought, saints)
  • 2010 Susan R. Grayzel, Univ. of Mississippi (women and gender, modern Europe, Britain, France, cultural history of war)
  • 2010 Steven Mintz, Univ. of Houston (19th-century U.S., social, family, and community)
  • 2011 Lisa Forman Cody, Claremont McKenna Coll. (early modern and modern Britain, France, and Europe; history of medicine, life sciences, political economy; history of gender, sexuality, the body, and selfhood; history of visual arts and architecture; history and literature; history of performing arts)
  • 2011 David G. Gutierrez, Univ. of California at San Diego (Chicano/Latino, comparative immigration, ethnic politics, Civil rights)
  • 2011 David S. Newbury, Smith Coll. (social, environmental, historiography, history of violence, Central Africa)
  • 2012 Carol Anderson, Emory Univ. (diplomatic, 20th-century U.S., African American)
  • 2012 Marshall C. Eakin, Vanderbilt Univ. (Latin America, with emphasis on Brazil and Central America; nationalism and nation-building, history of industrialization)
  • 2012 Poshek Fu, Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (modern Chinese history, history of Hong Kong, Chinese diaspora, war and culture, popular culture, pan-Chinese and pan-Asian cinemas)

See also the ballot material for the 2009 elections sent to the membership on September 1, 2009, the slate of which was published in the April 2009Perspectives on History.

Suggestions should be submitted to Arnita A. Jones, Executive Director, AHA, 400 A Street S.E., Washington, D.C. 20003. Please specify academic or other position and field of the individual; include also a brief statement of his or her qualifications for the particular position for which you are recommending the person.

— is the AHA’s assistant director for administration.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.