Publication Date

April 1, 2009

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

The Nominating Committee for 2009–10, chaired by Laura Ackerman Smoller (Univ. of Arkansas at Little Rock), met February 7–8, 2009, in Washington, D.C., and offers the following candidates for offices of the Association that are to be filled in the election this year:

President (1-year term)

  • Barbara Metcalf, University of Michigan/emeritus, University of California at Davis (history of the Indian subcontinent, especially the colonial period; history of the Muslim population of India and Pakistan)

President-elect (1-year term)

  • Anthony Grafton, Princeton University (intellectual and cultural history of early modern Europe, historiography, history of science)

  • Thomas W. Laqueur, University of California at Berkeley (modern Europe, cultural history, gender and sexuality, Britain since 1509, medicine and society)

Vice President, Teaching Division (3-year term)

  • Orville Vernon Burton, Coastal Carolina College (U.S. 19th and 20th century, American South, especially Civil War, civil rights movement, race relations, family, community, politics, religion, digital history)

  • Patricia Nelson Limerick, University of Colorado at Boulder (American West)

Council/Divisions (3-year terms)

Councilor Profession

  • Laura Isabel Serna, Florida State University (film history, cultural history, consumer culture, race and ethnicity in the U.S.)

  • Megan Threlkeld, Denison University (U.S. women and gender, U.S. foreign relations, transnational women’s activism, 20th-century Mexico)

Councilor Research

  • Richard H. Immerman, Temple University (20th-century United States, U.S. foreign relations, intelligence history)

  • Thomas J. Sugrue, University of Pennsylvania (20th-century American politics, urban, civil rights, and race)

Councilor Teaching

  • Cheryll Ann Cody, Houston Community College (Southern U.S. history—family and demography)

  • Charles A. Zappia, San Diego Mesa College (U.S. immigration, ethnic, and labor history; corporatization of higher education)

Committee on Committees (3-year term)

  • Jorge Canizares-Esguerra, University of Texas at Austin (early modern Atlantic, history of science and colonialism; history of knowledge; colonial Spanish and British America)

  • Daryle Williams, University of Maryland at College Park (Brazil post–1808; modern Latin America)

Nominating Committee (3-year terms)

Slot 1

  • Jan Ellen Lewis, Rutgers University-Newark (colonial and early national U.S.)

  • Janice L. Reiff, UCLA (urbanization, migration, and work; history and new media, 20th-century U.S., quantitative methods)

Slot 2

  • K. Page Herrlinger, Bowdoin College (Europe, with specialty in late Imperial Russia)

  • Pieter Judson, Swarthmore College (modern Germany and eastern Europe, social, economic)

Slot 3

  • Donald Quataert, SUNY-Binghamton (Middle East/Ottoman labor, social, and economic history)

  • Julia Adeney Thomas, University of Notre Dame (modern Japan, intellectual history, visual culture and photography, concepts of nature and environmental protection)

Nominations may also be made by petition carrying in each case the signatures of 100 or more members of the Association in good standing and indicating in each case the particular vacancy for which the nomination is intended. Nominations by petition must be in the hands of the Nominating Committee on or before July 1. All nominations must be accompanied by certification of willingness of the nominee to serve if elected. In distributing the annual ballot to the members of the Association, the Nominating Committee shall present and identify such candidates nominated by petition along with its own candidates.

AHA Election 2009

Schedule for Nominations and Elections of AHA Officers

  • April 2009: Slate published inPerspectives on History.

  • July 1, 2009: Deadline for nominations by petition, if any.

  • Aug. 31, 2009: Ballot material sent to current AHA members.

  • Nov. 1, 2009: Deadline for casting votes online (or for return of ballots by mail).

  • Jan. 9, 2010: Election results announced at business meeting during 124th annual meeting in San Diego.

  • Jan. 10, 2010: Individuals begin terms of office.



This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.