Publication Date

October 1, 2017

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

Under the AHA constitution and bylaws (Article VIII, Section 1; Article IX; and Bylaws 11 and 12), the executive director invites all members of the Association to submit to him, on or before January 7, 2018, recommendations for the following offices:


Vice President, Teaching Division (member of the Council, oversight of the division)

Councilor, Professional Division, one position (Council—governance of the organization; division—responsible for overseeing matters concerning working conditions and practices of historians, primarily by articulating ethical standards and best practices in the historical discipline)

Councilor, Research Division, one position (Council—governance of the organization; division—responsible for promoting historical scholarship, encouraging the collection and preservation of historical documents and artifacts, ensuring equal access to information, and fostering the dissemination of information about historical rec­ords and research)

Councilor, Teaching Division, one position (Council—governance of the organization; division—responsible for the Council’s work relating to history education, including efforts to promote and improve teaching of history at all levels of education)

Nominating Committee, three positions (nominations for all elective posts)

Members of the Council and elective committees as of January 7, 2018, are listed below. Positions being replaced in the June 1–July 15, 2018, elections are in bold.

Unless otherwise indicated, terms expire in January in the listed year.


2019 Tyler Stovall, Univ. of California, Santa Cruz (modern France, African Americans in Europe)

2020 Mary Beth Norton, Cornell Univ. (early Anglo-American gender and politics)

2021 John R. McNeill, Georgetown Univ. (environmental, world)

Professional Division

2019 Debjani Bhattacharyya, councilor, Drexel Univ. (economic, urban environmental)

2020 Kevin Boyle, vice president, Northwestern Univ. (20th-century US)

2020 Suzanne L. Marchand, councilor, Louisiana State Univ. (German theology/philology/history, 19th-century art and archaeology)

2021 Mary Elliott, councilor, National Museum of African American History and Culture (African American, migration and community development)

Research Division

2019 James H. Sweet, councilor, Univ. of Wisconsin, Madison (African diaspora, Brazil)

2020 Becky M. Nicolaides, councilor, independent scholar (history of American suburbs)

2021 Sophia Rosenfeld, vice president, Univ. of Pennsylvania (Enlightenment, Age of Revolutions, political thought, historical methods)

2021 Melissa K. Bokovoy, councilor, University of New Mexico (Yugoslavia and memory, collectivization and eastern Europe)

Teaching Division

2019 Elizabeth A. Lehfeldt, vice president, Cleveland State Univ. (early modern convents, queenship)

2019 Jeffrey A. Bowman, councilor, Kenyon Coll. (Iberian hagiography, law/conflict/disputes)

2020 Carlos A. Contreras, councilor, Grossmont Coll. (Mexico, US-Latin American relations)

2021 Matthew Cone, councilor, Carrboro High School (race and the justice system, economic development)

At Large

2021 Sarah Mellors, Univ. of California, Irvine (modern China, gender and sexuality, medicine, world)

Committee on Committees

7/2019 Antoinette M. Burton, Univ. of Illinois, Urbana­-Champaign (British empire, world)

7/2020 Kaya Şahin, Indiana Univ. (early modern Ottoman history)

7/2021 Madeline Y. Hsu, Univ. of Texas, Austin (migration and transnationalism, international, Asian American studies, modern China)

7/2021 Jennifer L. Palmer, Univ. of Georgia (18th-century French slavery/race/gender)

Nominating Committee

2019 William Deverell, Huntington Library/Univ. of Southern California (US West, environment)

2019 Kären E. Wigen, Stanford Univ. (historical geography of East Asia, early modernity in Japan)

2019 Jamil S. Zainaldin, Georgia Humanities Council (law, philanthropy)

2020 Purnima Dhavan, Univ. of Washington (Mughal literary cultures, early modern information networks)

2020 Laurent Dubois, Duke Univ. (Haitian Revolution, Afro­-Atlantic religion and cultural, Caribbean)

2020 Susannah R. Ottaway, Carleton Coll. (British social, European family)

2021 Kathleen Brosnan, Univ. of Oklahoma (environmental, transnational history of wine)

2021 Gabriel Paquette, Johns Hopkins Univ. (Spain and Portugal and their colonies, comparative imperial)

2021 Carin Berkowitz, Chemical Heritage Foundation (modern British and American medical sciences and visual culture)

Suggestions should be submitted by e-mail to executive director James Grossman at Please specify academic or other position and field of the individual, and include a brief statement of his or her qualifications for the position. Refer to the Statement on Diversity in AHA Nominations and Appointments (, which was drafted in the hope that it will encourage members to suggest more individuals from diverse backgrounds for both appointments and nominations. All suggestions received will be forwarded to the Nominating Committee for consideration at its meeting on February 9 and 10, 2018.

Schedule for Nominations and Elections of AHA Officers

January 7, 2018 Deadline for suggestions to executive director.

February 9–10, 2018 Nominating Committee meets to determine slate.

March–April 2018 Slate published on AHA Today and in Perspectives on History.

June 1, 2018 Ballot e-mailed to AHA members.

July 15, 2018 Deadline for return of ballots.

August–September 2018 Results announced on AHA Today and in Perspectives on History.

January 5, 2019 Results announced at business meeting during 133nd annual meeting in Chicago.

January 6, 2019 Individuals begin terms of office.


This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.

Liz Townsend
Liz Townsend

American Historical Association