Publication Date

October 1, 1992

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

Under the bylaws pursuant to Article VIII, Sections 2, 3, and 4 of the constitution, the executive director invites all members of the Association to submit to him, on or before December 15, 1992, recommendations for the following offices: president-elect; vice-president of the Research Division; two Council members; one member each for the Professional, Research, and Teaching divisions; two members for the Committee on Committees; and three members for the Nominating Committee. All suggestions received will be forwarded to the Nominating Committee for consideration at its meeting next February.

Present membership of the Council and elective committees is as follows, with open positions indicated by the year and name in bold italic lettering:



Frederic E. Wakeman, Jr., University of California, Berkeley, president (term expires December 1992)

Louise A. Tilly, New School for Social Research, president-elect (1992)

William E. Leuchtenburg, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, immediate past president (1992)

Susan Socolow, Emory University, vice-president, Professional Division (1992)

Blanche Wiesen Cook, John Jay College of Criminal Justice-CUNY, vice-president, Research Division (1993)

Robert A. Blackey, California State University, San Bernardino, vice-president, Teaching Division (1994)

Barbara Hanawalt, University of Minnesota (1992)

Robert L. Kelley, University of California, Santa Barbara (1992)

Carole K. Fink, Ohio State University (1993)

Nell Irvin Painter, Princeton University (1993)

Suzanne Wilson Barnett, University of Puget Sound (1994)

Sam Bass Warner, Jr., Brandeis University (1994)

Divisional Committee Members



Barbara Alpern Engel, University of Colorado, Boulder (1992)

Anand Yang, University of Utah (1993)

Paul K. Conkin, Vanderbilt University (1994)


David H. Stam, Syracuse University (1992)

Claudia Koonz, Duke University (1993)

James Lockhart, University of California, Los Angeles (1994)


Robert Brent Toplin, University of North Carolina, Wilmington (1992)

James Adomanis, Annapolis (MD) Middle School (1993)

Sarah Hanley, University of Iowa (1994)

Committee on Committees

Carole Shammas, University of California, Riverside (1992)

Keith M. Baker, Stanford University (1993)

Susan E. Ramirez, DePaul University (1993)

Richard J. M. Blackett, Indiana University (1994)

Nominating Committee

Pete Daniel, National Museum of American History (1992)

Patrick Geary, University of Florida (1992)

Arvarh E. Strickland, University of Missouri, Columbia (1992)

Rudolph Bell, Rutgers University (1993)

Nancy A. Hewitt, Duke University (1993)

Rebecca J. Scott, University of Michigan (1993)

Jere Bacharach, University of Washington (1994)

Evelyn Edson, Piedmont Virginia Community College (1994)

Mario T. Garcia, Yale University (1994)

See also the ballot material for the 1992 elections that was mailed to the membership last month, the slate of which was published in the April 1992 Perspectives.

Suggestions should be submitted to the Executive Director, AHA, 400 A Street, SE, Washington, D.C. 20003. Please specify academic or other position and field of the individual; include also a brief statement of his or her qualifications for the particular position for which you are recommending the person.