Publication Date

November 1, 1998

Perspectives Section


CLGH Announces Prize Competitions

The Committee on Lesbian and Gay History announces that it will award two prizes in 1999—the John Boswell Prize for an outstanding book on lesbian or gay history written in English by a North American, and a prize for an outstanding paper on lesbian or gay history written in English by an undergraduate student at a North American institution. Books published and articles written in 1997 or 1998 are eligible to be considered. One copy of each work should be submitted to each of the three members of the prize committee by December 31, 1998. Materials may be submitted by students, teachers, authors, readers, or publishers. Details about the prizes may be obtained from CLGH, c/o Vicki L. Eaklor, Human Studies, Alfred University, Saxon Dr., Alfred, NY 14802. (607) 871-2217. E-Mail:

SAH Prizes Awarded

The Society of Architectural Historians awarded its annual prizes at its annual meeting held in April 1998 in Los Angeles.

The Alice Davis Hitchcock Award for the most distinguished work of scholarship in the history of architecture was given to Joseph Rykwert for his book, The Dancing Column: On Order in Architecture, published by MIT Press.

The Spiro Kostoff Award for distinguished work in Architecture and Urbanism was awarded to Robert Bruegmann for The Architect and the City: Holabird and Roche, 1880–1918 (University of Chicago Press) and to Gregory Hise for Magnetic Los Angeles (Johns Hopkins University Press).

Leslie Topp received the Founders Award for the best article by a younger scholar appearing in the Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, for the essay, “An Architecture of Modern Nerves: Joseph Hoffman’s Purkersdorf Sanatorium.”

The Antoinette Forrester Downing Award for excellence in published architectural surveys was awarded to Catherine W. Bishir and Michael T. Southern for their Guide to the Historic Architecture of Eastern North Carolina (University of North Carolina Press).

The SAH Architectural Exhibition Catalogue Award for the outstanding catalogue of an architectural exhibition was received by John Zukowsky, who edited Building for Air Travel: Architecture and Design for Commercial Aviation (Art Institute of Chicago and Prestel Verlag).

In addition to these prizes, the society also awarded several fellowships to students of architectural history.

New Film & History Issue Out

The Historians Film Committee announces publication of the October issue of Film & History. The second of two double issues on Oliver Stone as a historian, the journal carries studies of Stone’s Born on Fourth of July, Salvador, The Doors, andNatural Born Killers. The issue, for which Robert B. Toplin was special editor, also has extended analyses of Saving Private Ryan, 16 book reviews, 3 film reviews, and a salute to Sergei Eisenstein on his birth centenary. For details, see the journal’s web site,

SHFG to Mark 20 Years

The Society for History in the Federal Government will be celebrating 20 years of its existence by publishing, in print and on its web site, the deliberative documents that laid the foundation for the formation of the society.

The annual meeting of the society to be held March 18–19, 1999 at the National Archives facilities in College Park, Maryland, will also highlight the anniversary with a session on the history and future of the society. Those wishing to present papers at the annual meeting are requested to send proposals by December 15, 1998 to the program committee.

Details about the annual meeting and the society are available at the society’s web site at

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.