Publication Date

February 1, 2012

The January 2012 meeting of the Board of Trustees of the National History Center brought changes to the Center to strengthen its relationship with the AHA. The Center’s Board of Trustees voted unanimously to amend the Center’s bylaws to restructure the board and create a standing Committee on Nominations and Governance. Prior to the change, the three divisional vice presidents of the AHA served as ex officio members of the NHC Board of Trustees. Under the new system, they will be replaced by the AHA’s president, president-elect, and immediate past president. The AHA’s executive director will join the board as chair. These changes take effect immediately. President William Cronon, President-elect Kenneth Pomeranz, and Immediate Past President Anthony Grafton have joined the Board. AHA Executive Director James R. Grossman is the new board chair.

Trustees James J. Sheehan and Christof Mauch were reelected for three-year terms. Treasurer James M. Banner, Jr., was elected to a one-year term and Center Director Wm. Roger Louis was reappointed. The Board passed a resolution thanking departing board members Robert L. Harris, Jr.; Patricia Nelson Limerick; Jacqueline Jones; and Iris Berger.

A 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, the National History Center was created by the American Historical Association in 2002 and is dedicated to the study and teaching of history and the advancement of historical knowledge in academia, business, government, journalism, and the public at large. The Center helps historians reach out to broader audiences by offering them opportunities to provide the historical context necessary to better understand today’s events.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.