Publication Date

March 1, 2002

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

  • Appointed Wm. Roger Louis to serve as chair of the planning committee for the National Center for Historical Studies.

  • Asked the Professional Division to recommend an AHA archives policy for Council consideration.

  • Authorized hiring temporary employees to begin processing the Association's papers for transfer to the Library of Congress.

  • Approved the 2002 appointive committee structure.

  • Accepted the German Historical Institute's application for affiliation with the AHA.

  • Approved an examination of affiliation criteria and reevaluation of relationship with the affiliated societies.

  • Approved revisions to the Statement on Standard‘s “Statement on Plagiarism” (click here to read the revisions).

  • Endorsed the guidelines developed by the American Association of History and Computing for evaluating digital media activities in tenure, review, and promotion.

  • Approved the Professional Division's "best practices" document on spousal/partner hiring (click here to read this document).

  • Expanded the eligibility criteria of the George Louis Beer Book Prize to include permanent residents of the United States.

  • Approved a commendation for Senator Robert Byrd (D–W.Va.) for his role in establishing the "Teaching American History" program.

  • Approved AHA support for a proposal to change the name of the National Coordinating Committee for the Promotion of History to the National Coalition for History and to establish the new coalition as a non-profit 501 (3) organization

  • Granted permanent committee status to the Task Force on Graduate Education (TFGE) and renamed it the Committee for Graduate Students (CGS).

  • Agreed to collaborate with the planning stages of the American Anthropological Association's initiative, Understanding Race and Human Variability.

  • Confirmed the Business Meeting's recommendation to reappoint three members of the Board of Trustees to 5–year terms: D. Roger Liddell, chair, Ingalls & Snyder; R. Dyke Benjamin, Senior Vice President, Lazard Freres and Co.; and C. Evan Stewart, Executive Vice President, General Counsel, the Nikko Securities Co.

  • Accepted changes to the AHA's Pacific Coast Branch's constitution to expand its membership base to include AHA members living in the Pacific Rim, Western Canada, and Mexico.

  • Approved the convention director's proposed rotational pattern for the 2007 (Midwest) and 2008 (Washington, D.C.) annual meetings.

  • Established a subcommittee to review the current book prizes and their guidelines for establishing new prizes, tabling a discussion of new book prizes pending completion of the review.

  • Approved the revisions to the "Organization. Jurisdiction, and Operation of Association Divisions and Committees" document.

  • Accepted the nominations of three scholars to be selected as the 2002 honorary foreign members.

  • Modified the composition of the Joint Committee of the Honorary Foreign Member and Award for Scholarly Distinction Committee to include the three current presidents (president-elect, president, and immediate past president).

  • Charged the Research Division to consider substantial revisions to the Program Committee guidelines and policies.  

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.