Publication Date

September 1, 1998

Editor's Note: For guidelines and helpful suggestions regarding submission of proposals, see Patrick Manning's "Preparing Your Proposal for the Year 2000 Annual Meeting.”

The annual meeting of the Association for the year 2000 will be held in Chicago, Illinois, January 6-9, 2000. The Program Committee welcomes proposals by all members of the Association (academic and nonacademic), by scholars in foreign countries and in related disciplines, and by affiliated societies. The program for the annual meeting seeks to promote excellence in research and teaching and discussion of significant professional issues, rights, and responsibilities. The Program Committee seeks presentations that address the entire community of historians and provide opportunity to examine the larger concerns of the profession. In particular, this year's committee is eager to encourage the participation of established scholars and to include time periods, regions, topics, and approaches that have been underrepresented in recent AHA meetings.

The AHA annual meeting for the year 2000 offers the perfect opportunity to reflect on the state of the discipline and the profession at the beginning of the 21st century. To encourage participation by all segments of the historical community, the Program Committee has chosen a broad theme, History for the Twenty-First Century: Continuity and Change. The committee hopes that a majority of the panels and papers will contribute to the discussion of this theme and will give preference to those panels and papers that in the course of their discussions of substantive issues in particular fields reflect upon broader issues of historiography, interpretation, methodology, and perspective. The Program Committee for the year 2000 consists of Claire Moses, chair (Univ. of Maryland at College Park), James Henretta, co-chair (Univ. of Maryland at College Park), Michael Bernstein (Univ. of California at San Diego), Palmira Brummet (Univ. of Tennessee), Barbara Hanawalt (Univ. of Minnesota), Albert Hurtado (Arizona State Univ.), John Kizca (Washington State Univ.), Sucheta Mazumdar (Duke Univ.), Peter Reill (UCLA), Claire Robertson (Ohio State Univ.), Carolyn Williams (Univ. of North Florida), and Jessica Young (Oak Park River Forest High School, Oak Park, Ill.)

There is only one deadline for submission: February 15, 1999. Any proposal postmarked after that date will not be considered. The committee encourages the submission of entire panels or workshops and will give preference to complete proposals (those that include all presenters, chair, and commentator). It will consider single-paper submissions but may have difficulty finding places for such proposals on the program. There will be no “poster sessions.”

In preparing a proposal, you should consult the following items in this issue of Perspectives: “Preparing Your Proposal” (page 35) and “Program Committee Guidelines” (page 36). Proposers of panels or individual presentations must use the cover sheet and checklist form on page 18 (or a photocopy).Additional copies of all materials are available from Andrew Schulkin at the AHA office, 400 A St., SE, Washington, DC 20003-3889. (202) 544-2422, ext. 104. Fax (202) 544-8307.

All materials can also be found on the AHA's home page on the World Wide Web: go to and click “Annual Meeting.”

All persons appearing on the program must be members of the AHA, the exceptions being foreign scholars and scholars from other disciplines. Only in exceptional circumstances will individuals be allowed to appear consecutively in the 1999 and 2000 programs.

Please mail four copies of the complete proposal (including the cover sheet and the items specified in the checklist) to Claire Moses, 2101 Woods Hall, University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742-4525.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.