Publication Date

November 1, 2008

Award for Scholarly Distinction

  • Joseph Harris (Howard Univ.);
  • Michael Kammen (Cornell Univ.)
  • Joan Wallach Scott (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton)

Honorary Foreign Member

  • Jacques Revel (Écoledes Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales, Paris)

Theodore Roosevelt-Woodrow Wilson Public Service Award

  • Adam Hochschild author

Troyer Steele Anderson Prize

  • Anna Kasten Nelson (American Univ.)

The Eugene Asher Distinguished Teaching Award

  • Michael D’Innocenzo (Hofstra Univ.)

Beveridge Family Teaching Prize

  • Daniel D. Tolly (Ann Arbor Public Schools, Michigan)

The Herbert Feis Award for Distinguished Contributions to Public History

  • Richard Kohn (Univ. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

The John E. O’Connor Film Award

  • Revolution ’67, co-produced by Bongiorno Productions Inc., the Independent Television Service (ITVS), and P.O.V./American Documentary Inc., in association with WSKG; Marylou Tibaldo-Bongiorno, producer and director; Jerome Bongiorno, photographer, editor, and animator.

Nancy Lyman Roelker Mentorship Award

  • Warren Roberts (Univ. of Albany, State Univ. of New York)

Book Prizes

Herbert Baxter Adams Prize

  • Carol Symes (Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), A Common Stage: Theater and Public Life in Medieval Arras (Cornell Univ. Press, 2007)

James A. Rawley Prize in Atlantic History

  • Marcus Rediker (Univ. of Pittsburgh), The Slave Ship: A Human History (Viking Press, 2007)

George Louis Beer Prize

  • Melvyn P. Leffler (Univ. of Virginia), For the Soul of Mankind: The United States, the Soviet Union, and the Cold War (Hill and Wang, 2007)

Albert J. Beveridge Award

  • Scott Kurashige (Univ. of Michigan), The Shifting Grounds of Race: Black and Japanese Americans in the Making of Multiethnic Los Angeles (Princeton Univ. Press, 2008)

The Paul Birdsall Prize

  • Jeffrey A. Engel (Texas A&M Univ.), Cold War at 30,000 Feet: The Anglo-American Fight for Aviation Supremacy (Harvard Univ. Press, 2007)

James Henry Breasted Prize

  • Anthony J. Barbieri-Low (Univ. of California, Santa Barbara), Artisans in Early Imperial China (Univ. of Washington Press, 2007)

Albert B. Corey Prize

  • Sharon A. Roger Hepburn (Radford Univ.), Crossing the Border: A Free Black Community in Canada (Univ. of Illinois Press, 2007)

John E. Fagg Prize

  • Laura Gotkowitz (Univ. of Iowa), A Revolution for Our Rights: Indigenous Struggles for Land and Justice in Bolivia, 1880–1952 (Duke Univ. Press, 2007)

John K. Fairbank Prize in East Asian History

  • Susan Mann (Univ. of California at Davis), The Talented Women of the Zhang Family (Univ. of California Press, 2007)

Morris D. Forkosch Prize

  • Barbara Donagan (Huntington Library), War in England 1642–49 (Oxford Univ. Press, 2008)

Leo Gershoy Prize

  • Anne Goldgar (Kings Coll., London), Tulipmania. Money, Honor, and Knowledge in the Dutch Golden Age (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2007)

Joan Kelly Memorial Prize in Women’s History

  • Kathy Davis (Utrecht Univ.), The Making of Our Bodies, Ourselves: How Feminism Travels across Borders (Duke Univ. Press, October 2007)

Littleton-Griswold Prize

  • Rebecca M. McLennan (Univ. of California at Berkeley)*, The Crisis of Imprisonment: Protest, Politics, and the Making of the American Penal State, 1776–1941 (Cambridge Univ. Press, 2008)

J. Russell Major Prize

  • Amalia D. Kessler (Stanford Law School), A Revolution in Commerce: The Parisian Merchant Court and the Rise of Commercial Society in Eighteenth-Century France (Yale Univ. Press, 2007)

Helen and Howard R. Marraro Prize

  • Margaret Meserve (Univ. of Notre Dame),Empires of Islam in Renaissance Historical Thought (Harvard Univ. Press, 2008)

George L. Mosse Prize

  • Atina Grossmann (Cooper Union), Jews, Germans, and Allies: Close Encounters in Occupied Germany (Princeton Univ. Press, 2007)

Premio del Rey

  • Katrin Kogman-Appel (Ben-Gurion Univ. of the Negev),Illuminated Haggadot from Medieval Spain: Biblical Imagery and the Passover Holiday (Penn State Univ. Press, 2006)

James A. Rawley Prize in Atlantic History

  • Marcus Rediker (Univ. of Pittsburgh), The Slave Ship: A Human History (Viking Press, 2007)

James Harvey Robinson Prize

  • Historical Thinking Matters (,  produced by the Center for History and New Media, George Mason University, and the School of Education, Stanford University.

Wesley-Logan Prize

  • Paul Christopher Johnson (Univ. of Michigan at Ann Arbor), Diaspora Conversions: Black Carib Religion and the Recovery of Africa (Univ. of California Press, 2007)

*This affiliation was incorrectly listed in the print version.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.