Publication Date

September 1, 2000

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

At its meetings of May 6 and 7, 2000, the AHA Council

1. Approved the 2000–01 Budget, which included some necessary maintenance to the headquarters building at 400 A Street, S.E., in Washington, D.C.

2. Approved unanimously the affiliation of Council on America's Military Past and National Council for History Education.

3. Approved suspension of nonresponsive affiliates in the print version of the Directory of Affiliated Societies.

4. Appointed Leon Fink as an ex officio nonvoting liaison to the National Council for History Education Board of Trustees.

5. Approved addition of "citizenship status" to the listing in Section 4 (Employment) of the Statement on Standards of Professional Conduct.

6. Approved the Professional Division recommendations to review the "Policy Statement Concerning Alleged Violations of the Rights of Foreign Historians."

7. Postponed decision on membership restriction for access to the online job ads for three years in order to study the impact that going online would have on membership levels, Internet costs, staff time, and so on.

8. Approved four candidates for the American Historical Review Board of Editors. Also approved additional candidate for a one-year term and then a three-year term. They are:

  • Dipesh Chakrabarty (Univ. of Chicago), Asia
  • Jack Greene (Johns Hopkins Univ.), Early American
  • Robin Fleming (Boston Coll.), Medieval
  • Bonnie G. Smith (Rutgers Univ., New Brunswick), Modern European
  • Patrick Manning (Northeastern Univ.), World History

9. Approved recommended changes to the implementation of Gutenberg-e Prize, including the issue of how the prize can encourage scholarly review of electronic publications, better links on the AHA's and Columbia University Press's web site, and directing that the e-books be treated like printed monographs by AHA book prize committees.

10. Approved final composition of the 2002 Program Committee with the two additional members. They are:

  • David Trask (Guilford Technical Community Coll., North Carolina)
  • Gloria Sesso (Half Hollow Hills High School, Port Jefferson, N.Y.)

11. Appointed Yevgeney Yazkov (Moscow State Univ.) as the 2000 Honorary Foreign Member.

12. Approved a recommendation from the Research Division to establish the John E. Fagg Prize for an outstanding work in Latin American History. The prize will be awarded annually for a period of 10 years beginning in 2002.

13. Approved suggestion for a better working relationship between the Program Committee and Council by having the President-elect serve as ex officio non-voting member to the Program Committee.

14. Approved changes in the Program Committee Guidelines (see page 52 of this issue)and the Customs and Lore Document (available on the AHA web site).

15. Approved the Research Division's recommendation to sign a contract with the Copyright Clearance Center for reproduction of articles from the American Historical Review.

16. Approved a recommendation from the Nominating Committee that the AHA no longer announce the number of ballots for individual candidates at the Business Meeting.

17. Approved thanking the members of the Publications Advisory Committee (PAC) and releasing them from further PAC duties.

18. Approved Anaheim, San Diego, and Seattle as possible sites for future annual meetings in 2005, and New York City and Philadelphia in 2006.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.