Publication Date

September 1, 2008

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

At its meetings in Washington, D.C., June 7 and 8, 2008, the AHA's Council reached the following decisions:

  • Approved minutes of the January 3 and 6, 2008, meeting.
  • Approved four new members of theAmerican Historical Review‘s Board of Editors: Michael Kazin (Georgetown Univ.), Pamela Smith (Columbia Univ.), Eric Van Young (Univ. of California at San Diego), and Florence Bernault (Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison).
  • Approved award recipients (three recipients of the Award for Scholarly Distinction, one Honorary Foreign Member, and one Roosevelt-Wilson Award recipient) to be announced at the January 2009 meeting.
  • Accepted the application for affiliation from the Labor and Working Class Historical Association, and suspended three affiliates that have not responded in five years to requests from the Association for updates.
  • Approved the 2010 Program Committee: David Garrett (Reed Coll.), Emma Hipolito (Center X History-Geography Project, UCLA), Kristin Hoganson (Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Dorothy Ko (Barnard Coll.), Robert C. Ritchie (Huntington Library), Robert Rosenstone (CalTech), Damon Salesa (Univ. of Michigan), Sudipta Sen (Univ. of California at Davis), Denise Spellberg (Univ. of Texas at Austin), and Lynn Thomas (Univ. of Washington). Council had previously approved the appointment of Jane Kamensky (Brandeis Univ.) as chair of the committee.
  • Approved the Association's budget for 2008–09.
  • Approved restructuring of the Finance Committee to conform to the revised AHA constitution.
  • Approved revisions to the Association's bylaws, to bring them into conformity with recent constitutional reforms.
  • Approved a minor revision to the AHA Annual Meeting Press Policy.
  • Approved modest revisions to the Annual Meeting Guidelines.
  • Approved the Professional Division's nomination of a recipient of the Troyer Steele Anderson Prize (to be awarded at the 2009 annual meeting).
  • Approved a formal change in the name and mandate of the Committee for Graduate Students to the Graduate and Early Career Committee.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.