Publication Date

April 1, 2014

Perspectives Section




Society for Military History 2014 Awards

The Society for Military History announces its 2014 awards and prizes. The Samuel Eliot Morison Prize for contributions in the field of military history is awarded to Rick Atkinson, author of The Liberation Trilogy. The Edwin H. Simmons Memorial Service Award for long, distinguished, or outstanding service to the society is awarded to Frank J. Wetta (Kean Univ.).

The 2014 Distinguished Book Award winners for 2014 are: for United States military history, Samuel J. Watson (US Military Academy), Jackson’s Sword: The Army Officer Corps on the American Frontier, 1810–1821 and Peacekeepers and Conquerors: The Army Officer Corps on the American Frontier, 1821–1846; for non-US military history, Geoffrey Parker (Ohio State Univ.), Global Crisis: War, Climate Change and Catastrophe in the Seventeenth Centuryfor biography/memoir, George W. Gawrych (Baylor Univ.), The Young Ataturk: From Ottoman Soldier to Statesman of Turkey; and for reference, Spencer Tucker (ABC-CLIO), editor, American Civil War: The Definitive ­Encyclopedia and Document Collection.

The Society for Military History, in partnership with the George C. Marshall Foundation, has created a new prize to be awarded annually to an individual, group, or institution that creates, designs, and implements material for use in teaching military history utilizing evolving digital technology. This year’s award goes to Donald P. Wright, general editor, for Vanguard of Valor: Small Unit Actions in Afghanistan.

The Moncado Prizes are awarded annually to the authors of the four best articles published in The Journal of Military History during the previous calendar year. The winners are: Jonathan Krause (King’s Coll.), “The French Battle for Vimy Ridge, Spring 1915”; Ken Young (King’s Coll.), “Special Weapon, Special Relationship: The Atomic Bomb Comes to Britain”; Bruce Collins (Sheffield Hallam Univ.), “Defining Victor in Victorian Warfare, 1860–1882”; and Thomas Bruscino (US Army School of Advanced Military Studies), “Naturally Clausewitzian: U.S. Army Theory and Education from Reconstruction to the Interwar Years.”

ABC-CLIO Research Grants are funded by publisher ABC-CLIO to support the work of advanced graduate students and those scholars who do not hold a doctoral degree but are employed full-time as historians. The winners are: Seth A. Givens (Ohio Univ.) and Zachary Matusheski (Brandeis Univ.).

The Russell F. Weigley Graduate Student Travel Grant Awards support the participation of graduate students in the society’s annual meeting. The winners are: Tyler Bamford (Temple Univ.), Kyle Bracken (Florida State Univ.), Jerome Devitt (Trinity Coll.), Ian Johnson (Ohio State Univ.), and Mary Elizabeth Walters (Univ. of North Carolina, Chapel Hill).

The Edward M. Coffman First Manuscript Award is awarded annually to an author who has not previously published a scholarly book-length manuscript. The winner is Ellen Tillman (Texas State Univ., San Marcos), for her manuscript “Dollar Diplomacy by Force: U.S. Military Experimentation and Occupation in the Dominican Republic, 1900–1924.” Honorable Mention is awarded to Andrew Rath (Advanced Technical Intelligence Center) for his manuscript “Britain’s and France’s Crimean War Naval Campaigns Against Russia in Imperial Context, 1854–1856.”

The awards will be presented at the society’s annual meeting awards luncheon on April 4, 2014, in Kansas City, Missouri. For more information on these awards, visit


This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.