Publication Date

December 1, 1999

Leo Spitzer (Dartmouth Coll.), chair of the Nominating Committee, announces the following results of the 1999 balloting for officers and committee members of the American Historical Association.

President: Eric Foner (Columbia Univ.)

President-Elect: Wm. Roger Louis (Univ. of Texas at Austin)

Vice President, Research Division: Gabrielle Spiegel (Johns Hopkins Univ.)

Council Members

Place 1: David W. Blight (Amherst Coll.)

Place 2: Lillian Guerra (Univ. of Wisconsin at Madison)

Division Members

Professional: Allen F. Isaacman (Univ. of Minnesota)

Reseorch: Mark L. Kornbluh (Michigan State Univ.)

Teaching: John Pyne (West Milford Township Public Schools)

Committee on Committees

Place 1: Cynthia B. Herrup (Duke Univ.)

Place 2: Eileen Boris (Univ. of Virginia)

Nominating Committee

Place 1: Michael Adas (Rutgers Univ.)

Place 2: Gary Kates (Trinity Univ., San Antonio)

Place 3: Susan P. Schroeder (Tulane Univ.)

The results will be formally announced ai the annual business meeting on January 8, 2000, in the Ohio Room of the Sheraton Chicago Hotel & Towers, beginning at 4:45 p.m. A detailed election report will appear in the January 2000 issue of Perspectives.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.