From the 123rd Annual Meeting column of the November 2008 issue of Perspectives on History

Awards and Honors to Be Conferred at the 123rd Annual Meeting

AHA Staff, November 2008

Award for Scholarly Distinction

  • Joseph Harris (Howard Univ.);
  • Michael Kammen (Cornell Univ.)
  • Joan Wallach Scott (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton)

Honorary Foreign Member

  • Jacques Revel (Écoledes Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales, Paris)

Theodore Roosevelt-Woodrow Wilson Public Service Award

  • Adam Hochschild author

Troyer Steele Anderson Prize

  • Anna Kasten Nelson (American Univ.)

The Eugene Asher Distinguished Teaching Award

  • Michael D’Innocenzo (Hofstra Univ.)

Beveridge Family Teaching Prize

  • Daniel D. Tolly (Ann Arbor Public Schools, Michigan)

The Herbert Feis Award for Distinguished Contributions to Public History

  • Richard Kohn (Univ. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

The John E. O’Connor Film Award

  • Revolution ’67, co-produced by Bongiorno Productions Inc., the Independent Television Service (ITVS), and P.O.V./American Documentary Inc., in association with WSKG; Marylou Tibaldo-Bongiorno, producer and director; Jerome Bongiorno, photographer, editor, and animator.

Nancy Lyman Roelker Mentorship Award

  • Warren Roberts (Univ. of Albany, State Univ. of New York)

Book Prizes

Herbert Baxter Adams Prize

  • Carol Symes (Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), A Common Stage: Theater and Public Life in Medieval Arras (Cornell Univ. Press, 2007)

James A. Rawley Prize in Atlantic History

  • Marcus Rediker (Univ. of Pittsburgh), The Slave Ship: A Human History (Viking Press, 2007)

George Louis Beer Prize

  • Melvyn P. Leffler (Univ. of Virginia), For the Soul of Mankind: The United States, the Soviet Union, and the Cold War (Hill and Wang, 2007)

Albert J. Beveridge Award

  • Scott Kurashige (Univ. of Michigan), The Shifting Grounds of Race: Black and Japanese Americans in the Making of Multiethnic Los Angeles (Princeton Univ. Press, 2008)

The Paul Birdsall Prize

  • Jeffrey A. Engel (Texas A&M Univ.), Cold War at 30,000 Feet: The Anglo-American Fight for Aviation Supremacy (Harvard Univ. Press, 2007)

James Henry Breasted Prize

  • Anthony J. Barbieri-Low (Univ. of California, Santa Barbara), Artisans in Early Imperial China (Univ. of Washington Press, 2007)

Albert B. Corey Prize

  • Sharon A. Roger Hepburn (Radford Univ.), Crossing the Border: A Free Black Community in Canada (Univ. of Illinois Press, 2007)

John E. Fagg Prize

  • Laura Gotkowitz (Univ. of Iowa), A Revolution for Our Rights: Indigenous Struggles for Land and Justice in Bolivia, 1880–1952 (Duke Univ. Press, 2007)

John K. Fairbank Prize in East Asian History

  • Susan Mann (Univ. of California at Davis), The Talented Women of the Zhang Family (Univ. of California Press, 2007)

Morris D. Forkosch Prize

  • Barbara Donagan (Huntington Library), War in England 1642–49 (Oxford Univ. Press, 2008)

Leo Gershoy Prize

  • Anne Goldgar (Kings Coll., London), Tulipmania. Money, Honor, and Knowledge in the Dutch Golden Age (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2007)

Joan Kelly Memorial Prize in Women’s History

  • Kathy Davis (Utrecht Univ.), The Making of Our Bodies, Ourselves: How Feminism Travels across Borders (Duke Univ. Press, October 2007)

Littleton-Griswold Prize

  • Rebecca M. McLennan (Univ. of California at Berkeley)*, The Crisis of Imprisonment: Protest, Politics, and the Making of the American Penal State, 1776–1941 (Cambridge Univ. Press, 2008)

J. Russell Major Prize

  • Amalia D. Kessler (Stanford Law School), A Revolution in Commerce: The Parisian Merchant Court and the Rise of Commercial Society in Eighteenth-Century France (Yale Univ. Press, 2007)

Helen and Howard R. Marraro Prize

  • Margaret Meserve (Univ. of Notre Dame), Empires of Islam in Renaissance Historical Thought (Harvard Univ. Press, 2008)

George L. Mosse Prize

  • Atina Grossmann (Cooper Union), Jews, Germans, and Allies: Close Encounters in Occupied Germany (Princeton Univ. Press, 2007)

Premio del Rey

  • Katrin Kogman-Appel (Ben-Gurion Univ. of the Negev), Illuminated Haggadot from Medieval Spain: Biblical Imagery and the Passover Holiday (Penn State Univ. Press, 2006)

James A. Rawley Prize in Atlantic History

  • Marcus Rediker (Univ. of Pittsburgh), The Slave Ship: A Human History (Viking Press, 2007)

James Harvey Robinson Prize

  • Historical Thinking Matters (,  produced by the Center for History and New Media, George Mason University, and the School of Education, Stanford University.

Wesley-Logan Prize

  • Paul Christopher Johnson (Univ. of Michigan at Ann Arbor), Diaspora Conversions: Black Carib Religion and the Recovery of Africa (Univ. of California Press, 2007)

*This affiliation was incorrectly listed in the print version.