All Articles

  • On "Changing the Landscape"

    January 31, 2023

    To the Editor: It is certainly past time to erect memorials to the enslaved people who built so many institutions of higher learning, but I was appalled at how Jody Lynn Allen simply brushed aside the...

  • John W. Shy (1931–2022)

    January 31, 2023

    John W. Shy, professor emeritus of history at the University of Michigan and a leading authority on Anglo-American military history, died on April 8, 2022, in his 91st year.

  • On "The Age of Planetary Revolution"

    January 31, 2023

    To the Editor: Carl Abbott’s “The Age of Planetary Revolution” (December 2022) reminded me of “Scorched Supper on New Niger,” a short story by Suzy McKee Charnas. Though the story is a conventional on...

  • Actions by the AHA Council: June 2022 to January 2023

    January 31, 2023

    Find out what the AHA Council was up to in the second half of 2022.

  • Liu Kwang-Ching (1921–2006)

    January 31, 2023

    This Long Overdue tribute honors historian Liu Kwang-Ching, who died on September 28, 2006.

  • Trees and the College Campus

    January 30, 2023

    The tree has become an essential symbol of college life.

  • AHA Member Spotlight: Susan Ferentinos

    January 27, 2023

    Susan Ferentinos is a self-employed public history researcher, writer, and consultant. She lives in Port Townsend, Washington, and has been a member since 2016.

  • AHA23: A Philadelphia Story

    January 25, 2023

    Historians visited the City of Brotherly Love for four days of discussions on a variety of topics.

  • Guidelines for Broadening the Definition of Historical Scholarship

    January 24, 2023

    On January 5, 2023, the AHA Council approved the Guidelines for Broadening the Definition of Historical Scholarship.

  • AHA23 Slogan Contest Winner

    January 20, 2023

    AHA staff is excited to announce the winner of the AHA Slogan Contest. Members and other historians submitted dozens of witty slogans, and AHA23 attendees voted on their favorite. The winner of the S...