Affiliated Societies

NASOH Establishes New Award for Graduate Students

AHA Staff | Mar 1, 2008

The North American Society for Oceanic History (NASOH) has announced the establishment of the Clark G. Reynolds Award to be presented to the author of the best paper by a graduate student delivered at its annual conference. The prize will consist of assistance in publishing the essay in The Northern Mariner, the journal cosponsored by NASOH and the Canadian Nautical Research Society, a membership in NASOH, a handsome plaque, and the author's choice of 10 books published by the University Press of Florida.

The new award is in addition to the several the society already confers: the Chad Smith Travel Grants presented to students to assist in covering expenses linked to attending the annual meeting; the John Lyman Book Awards, which recognize publications which make significant contributions to the understanding of maritime history; and the K. Jack Bauer Award, which is presented to an individual who has given distinguished service to NASOH and who has made lifetime contributions to the field of maritime history.

Tags: News from Affiliated Societies


Please read our commenting and letters policy before submitting.