AHA Activities

Nominations Sought for 1994 AHA Candidates

Jere L. Bacharach | Jan 1, 1994

I am writing to you in my capacity as chair of the 1994 Nominating Committee. Each year the AHA through Perspectives calls upon members to submit names of potential candidates for AHA Council, divisions, and committees. Each year approximately a half dozen names are submitted by the individual named or on behalf of another. This year the response has been the same. I would like to change that pattern, and to do so I need your help. Please send your own name or that of another individual you feel would be an outstanding choice by February 1, 1994, to Nominating Committee, Attn: Sharon K. Tune, American Historical Association, 400 A St., SE, Washington, DC 20003. A few sentences about the candidate is always helpful, but please do not include a full c.v. as the amount of paper generated becomes overwhelming.

The Nominating Committee will meet in early February and we will be selecting candidates for President-elect (by tradition a Europeanist for the next term), Vice President of the Teaching Division, two members of the Council, one member from the Professional, Research, and Teaching Divisions, one member of the Committee on Committees, and three members of the Nominating Committee.

According to AHA bylaws, a candidate, at the time of nomination, cannot be from an institution already represented when the new term begins. Therefore, potential candidates cannot be currently employed at the following: Brandeis Univ., California State Univ.-San Bernardino, Cornell Univ., Duke Univ., Harvard Univ., Indiana Univ., New School for Social Research, New York Univ., North Carolina Central Univ., Northwestern Univ., Oberlin College, Occidental College, Piedmont Virginia Community College, Schlesinger Library-Radcliffe College, Newberry Library, UCLA, U.S. Senate Historical Office, Univ. of California-San Diego, Univ. of Chicago, Univ. of Iowa, Univ. of Maryland-College Park, Univ. of Massachusetts, Univ. of Michigan, Univ. of Nebraska-Lincoln, Univ. of New Hampshire, Univ. of Pennsylvania, Univ. of Pittsburgh, Univ. of Puget Sound, Univ. of Washington, Univ. of Wisconsin Center-Marathon County, Vanderbilt Univ., Wayne State Univ., Wilson Magnet High School (Rochester, N.Y.), or Yale Univ.

Jere L. Bacharach
University of Washington
Chair, 1994 Nominating Committee

Tags: AHA Activities


Please read our commenting and letters policy before submitting.