Publication Date

November 1, 2005

Perspectives Section


At an induction ceremony held on October 8, 2005, in Cambridge, Massachusetts, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences welcomed its 225th class of fellows, which included 10 historians (of whom seven are AHA members).

The historians who were inducted into the academy are: Omer Bartov, the John P. Birkelund Distinguished Professor of European History at Brown University;John Henry Coatsworth, a former AHA president (1995) and the Monroe Gutman Professor of Latin American Affairs and director of the David Rockefeller Center at Harvard University; Victoria De Grazia, professor of history at Columbia University; Sheila Fitzpatrick, the Bernadotte E. Schmitt Distinguished Service Professor of Modern Russian History at the University of Chicago; Raul Hilberg, professor emeritus of political science at the University of Vermont; Alice Kessler-Harris, the R. Gordon Hoxie Professor of American History and department chair at Columbia University; Naomi R. Lamoreaux, professor of economics and history at the University of California at Los Angeles; Harriet N. Ritvo, the Arthur J. Conner Professor of History at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Robert I. Rotberg, president of the World Peace Foundation and director of the Kennedy School of Government’s Program on Intrastate Conflict and Conflict Resolution at Harvard University; and Richard P. Saller, provost and the Edward L. Ryerson Distinguished Service Professor of History and Classics at the University of Chicago.

The historians join 204 other fellows and foreign members who make up the academy’s 225th class. They come from 26 states and 10 countries and include Nobel and Pulitzer Prize laureates, MacArthur and Guggenheim fellows, and are leaders in scholarship, business, the arts and public affairs. A complete list is on the academy’s web site at www.

"The Academy takes great pride in honoring the accomplishments of these outstanding and influential individuals," said Academy President Patricia Meyer Spacks. "Throughout its history, Fellows of the Academy have been dedicated to advancing intellectual thought and constructive action in America and the world. We are confident that our newest group of Fellows will help us fulfill that mission in significant ways," she said.

New fellows and honorary foreign members are nominated and elected by current members of the Academy. Members are divided into five broad classes: mathematics and physical sciences; biological sciences; social sciences; humanities and the arts; and public affairs, business and administration.

Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences is an independent research center that conducts multidisciplinary studies of complex and emerging problems. Current academy research focuses on: science and global security; social policy; the humanities and culture; and education. With headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts, the academy’s work is advanced by its 4,600 elected members, who are leaders in the academic disciplines, the arts, business and public affairs from around the world.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.