Publication Date

March 1, 1989

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

The American Historical Association’s Task Force on the Undergraduate History Major invites individuals attending the Organization of American Historians annual meeting to a special session from 1:00 to 2:00 p.m. on Friday, April 7, 1989 in room 46 of the Adams Mark Hotel, St. Louis.

The task force is one of fourteen disciplinary and interdisciplinary groups established under the auspices of the Association of American Colleges with funding from the Fund for the Improvement of Post-secondary Education. Its charge is to study current departmental practices and recommend ways to define, strengthen, and improve the experience of study in depth for undergraduates in history. Myron Marty, Drake University, chair of the five-member task force, will provide a progress report on this effort and seek response and input from annual meeting attendees. The other members of the task force are: Edward A. Gosselin, California State University, Long Beach; Colin A. Palmer, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Lynda Shaffer, Tufts University; and Joanna S. Zangrando, Skidmore College. Further details on the task force’s work will follow in the April 1989 issue of Perspectives.