Publication Date

February 22, 2011

Theodore Roosevelt-Woodrow Wilson AwardAHA members are invited to suggest names of individuals who can be nominated for the Theodore Roosevelt-Woodrow Wilson Public Service Award. Named for the two former AHA presidents who were also Presidents of the United States—Theodore Roosevelt (AHA president in 1912) and Woodrow Wilson (AHA president in 1924)—this honorific award recognizes individuals outside the historical profession who have made a significant contribution to the study, teaching, and public understanding of history.

The suggestions for possible nominees can include (but need not be restricted to), for example, persons who may have made a significant contribution to the support and encouragement of history through their actions. Such noteworthy actions may include philanthropy, supporting or working for organizations that promote history in public life, helping to protect and preserve a national historical monument or park, or other work that cultivates public awareness of history. Previous honorees have been Senator Robert C. Byrd (D-WVa), Brian Lamb(C-Span President and C.E.O.), Steven Spielberg(Founding Chairman, Shoah Visual History Foundation), Congressman John Lewis(D-Ga), Richard A. Moe (President, National Trust for Historic Preservation), Adam Hochschild(journalist and author), and Lee H. Hamilton(Director, The Center on Congress at Indiana University, and formerly Director of the Woodrow Wilson Center for International Scholars).

The executive director and the AHA president will consider members’ suggestions and other names to choose the nominees. The AHA Council will thereupon make the final selection, and the award will be presented at the AHA’s Annual Meeting.

Mail your suggestion (along with a one-page note justifying the suggestion) to:

Executive Director, AHA,
Attention: The Roosevelt-Wilson Award,
400 A Street, S.E.
Washington, D.C. 20003-3889.

This post first appeared on AHA Today.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.