Publication Date

December 1, 2008

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

See below for the winners of the 2008 AHA Election. These individuals will begin their terms of office following the 123rd Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

President (1-year term)

  • Laurel Thatcher Ulrich, Harvard University (early America, comparative women’s, material culture)

President-elect (1-year term)

  • Barbara Metcalf, University of Michigan and emeritus, Univ. of California, Davis (history of the Indian subcontinent, especially the colonial period; history of the Muslim population of India and Pakistan)

Vice-President, Research Division (3-year term)

  • Iris Berger, University at Albany-SUNY  (Africa, comparative women’s, labor and working-class)

Council/Divisions (3-year terms)

Councilor Profession

  • Sarah C. Maza, Northwestern University (18th-, 19th-, and 20th-century France, methodology)

Councilor Research

  • John K. Thornton, Boston University (Africa, Atlantic, world)

Councilor Teaching

  • Barbara L. Tischler, Horace Mann School, NYC  (American cultural, the 1960s, women’s, labor, teaching practice)

Committee on Committees (3-year terms)

Slot 1

  • Kriste Ann Lindenmeyer, University of Maryland Baltimore County (U.S. social with an emphasis on public policy, the history of childhood, and women and gender during the late 19th and early 20th centuries)

Slot 2

  • Lloyd S. Kramer, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (modern European cultural and intellectual history with an emphasis on nineteenth-century France)

Nominating Committee (3-year terms)

Slot 1

  • Marshall C. Eakin, Vanderbilt University (Latin America, with emphasis on Brazil and Central America; nationalism and nation-building, history of industrialization)

Slot 2

  • Poshek Fu, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (modern Chinese history, history of Hong Kong, Chinese diaspora, war and culture, popular culture, pan-Chinese and pan-Asian cinemas)

Slot 3

  • Carol Anderson, University of Missouri-Columbia (Emory Univ. beginning Jan. 2009) (diplomatic, U.S. 20th-century, African American)

This post first appeared on AHA Today.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.