Publication Date

January 1, 2004

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

On behalf of the Nominating Committee, I am pleased to report the results of the 2003 election for AHA offices. The committee is extremely grateful to all the candidates who agreed to stand for Association elective office and committee positions despite their having other pressing obligations. The Association depends for its continued well-being upon the willingness of its members to serve. Elected candidates are indicated with an asterisk (*).

President (1-year term)

  • Jonathan D. Spence, Yale University (China since 1600)

President-elect (1-year term)

  • *James J. Sheehan, Stanford University (modern Europe)
  • Bonnie G. Smith, Rutgers University (modern Europe, women and gender, France, world)

Vice President, Teaching Division (3-year term)

  • *Patrick Manning, Northeastern University (world, Africa, social and economic)
  • Howard Spodek, Temple University (South Asia, world, urban)

Council (3-year terms)

Position 1

  • Carole Stanford Bucy, Volunteer State Community College, Tennessee (American women’s political history, 20th century, Civil War)
  • *Kevin Reilly, Raritan Valley Community College, New Jersey (world)

Position 2

  • Steven A. Epstein, University of Kansas (medieval Europe)
  • *Pamela H. Smith, Pomona College (early modern Europe, science, artisans and artists)

Division Representatives (3-year terms)


  • *Mary Lindemann, Carnegie Mellon University (early modern Europe, German, Flemish, and Dutch)
  • Susan Elizabeth Ramirez, Texas Christian University (colonial Latin America, social and cultural history of native peoples of the Andes, political economy, land tenure, prosopography, education)


  • Marshall C. Eakin, Vanderbilt University (Latin America, 19th- and 20th-century Brazil and Central America)
  • *Robert C. Ritchie, The Huntington Library, Art Collections, and Botanical Gardens (early America)


  • Andrew DeRoche, Front Range Community College, Longmont Campus (U.S. and Africa, 20th-century U.S., African American, U.S. Civil War)
  • *Emily S. Tai, Queensborough Community College, CUNY (medieval, world, women)

Committee on Committees (3-year terms)

  • Richard L. Kagan, Johns Hopkins University (early modern Europe, Spain and its overseas empire)
  • *Julia Clancy-Smith, University of Arizona (19th-century North African and Mediterranean world, Middle Eastern women)

Nominating Committee (3-year terms)

Position 1

  • *Antoinette Burton, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (Britain and Empire, women, colonial India)
  • John A. Davis, University of Connecticut (Italian and comparative European history since the 18th century)

Position 2

  • Daryl M. Scott, Howard University (African American, modern U.S.)
  • *Clarence E. Walker, University of California at Davis (American black 1450–present, comparative slavery and race, 19th-century social and political, popular culture, film)

Position 3

  • *Olivia Remie Constable, University of Notre Dame (Mediterranean social and economic, Muslim-Christian contacts, Spain)
  • Dina R. Khoury, George Washington University (Middle East)

Of the 13,543 members of the Association, 2,618 cast ballots before the November 1 deadline, only 78 fewer than last year. Forty-nine ballots postmarked after November 1 were not counted. Survey and Ballot Systems, Inc., of Eden Prairie, Minnesota, scanned the ballots and tabulated the results. Only 16 ballots needed to be hand counted. Some voters registered their opinions about candidates, and the committee will review these criticisms and comments at its next meeting in February 2004. The percentage of membership voting has been roughly the same in the past two years; nevertheless, the Nominating Committee would like to see a higher level of voter turnout. The committee encourages members to vote and would profit from comments from members about perceived difficulties in returning ballots.

The Nominating Committee met in Washington, D.C., February 1–3, 2003. This was the seventh year that the committee had met from Saturday to Monday. Although some telephone calls had to be made by the chair after the meeting had adjourned, the schedule allowed us to reach nominees more easily, either by telephone or e-mail. We elected to continue the schedule for the 2004 meeting, which will be held February 7–9, 2004. The chair of the 2004 Nominating Committee is Alice Conklin (Univ. of Rochester).

The Nominating Committee continues to try to bring a diversity of candidates to the offices of the AHA. This is a complicated task, requiring us to keep in mind ethnicity and gender; types of colleges, universities, and high schools represented; geographic locations of the institutions represented; previous and existing representation in AHA offices; the specialized fields within the historical profession; and ongoing changes in the profession. No single year's nominating slate could hope to achieve diversity; successive Nominating Committees must instead build on previous efforts in order to achieve this goal.

The committee wishes to thank Assistant Director Sharon K. Tune, whose advice and efficiency significantly helped the committee fulfill its responsibilities. I am also very grateful to my fellow committee members—their collective knowledge of the Association and profession was essential to the nominating process.

— (Harvard Univ.) was chair of the 2003 Nominating Committee.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.