Publication Date

November 1, 2013

Perspectives Section


The following is a list of the recipients of the various awards, prizes, and honors that will be presented during the 128th Annual Meeting of the American Historical Association on Thursday, January 2, 2014, in the Palladian Ballroom at the Omni Shoreham Hotel. The full citations of the prize and award committees will be printed in the booklet distributed during the awards ceremony, as well as in the February 2014 issue of Perspectives on History.

The Theodore Roosevelt-­Woodrow Wilson Award

David M. Rubenstein, The Carlyle Group

Awards for Scholarly Distinction

John Dower (Mass. Institute of Technology); Patricia Buckley Ebrey(Univ. of Washington); Walter LaFeber (Cornell Univ.)

The Troyer Steele Anderson Prize

Thomas F. Rugh (TIAA-­CREF)

The Eugene Asher Distinguished Teaching Award

Michael S. Green(Coll. of Southern Nevada/UNLV Honors Coll.)

The Beveridge Family Teaching Award

John Russell (Burlington City High School, Burlington, NJ)

The Raymond J. Cunningham Prize

David Wemer (Gettysburg Coll. BA 2014); Faculty Advisor: William Bowman, (Gettysburg Coll.) “Europe’s Little Tiger?: Reassessing Economic Transitions in Slovakia under the Mečiar Government, 1993–­1998,” Gettysburg College Historical Journal, Volume 12, Issue 1, pp 97–­112, 2013

The Herbert Feis Award

Richard E. Turley, Jr. (The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-­Day Saints)

The William and Edwyna Gilbert Award

Tim Keirn (California State Univ. Long Beach), andEileen Luhr, (California State Univ. Long Beach) “Subject Matter Counts: The Pre-­Service Teaching and Learning of Historical Thinking,” The History Teacher, Volume 45, Number 4, 2012, pp. 493–­511

The Nancy Lyman Roelker Mentorship Award

Shari Hills Conditt (Woodland High School, Woodland, WA)

The Roy Rosenzweig Prize for Innovation in Digital History

“Digital Archive: International History Declassified” (History and Public Policy Program, Woodrow Wilson Center)

Honorary Foreign Member

Patrick Karl O’Brien, FBA (London School of Economics)

Book Prizes:

The Herbert Baxter Adams Prize

Steven A. Barnes (George Mason Univ.)Death and Redemption: The Gulag and the Shaping of Soviet Society (Princeton Univ. Press, 2011)

The George Louis Beer Prize

R. M. Douglas(Colgate Univ.) Orderly and Humane: The Expulsion of the Germans after the Second World War(Yale Univ. Press, 2012)

The Albert J. Beveridge Award

W. Jeffrey Bolster (Univ. of New Hampshire)The Mortal Sea: Fishing the Atlantic in the Age of Sail (The Belknap Press of Harvard Univ. Press, 2012)

The James Henry Breasted Prize

Patricia Crone (Institute for Advanced Study) The Nativist Profits of Early Islamic Iran: Rural Revolt and Local Zoroastrianism(Cambridge Univ. Press, 2012)

The John H. Dunning Prize

Jennifer Ratner-Rosenhagen (Univ. of Wisconsin, Madison)American Nietzsche: A History of an Icon and His Ideas (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2012)

The John K. Fairbank Prize in East Asian History

Barbara Mittler (Heidelberg Univ.) A Continuous Revolution: Making Sense of Cultural Revolution Culture (Harvard Univ. Asia Center of Harvard Univ. Press, 2012)

The Morris D. Forkosch Prize

Jordanna Bailkin (Univ. of Washington)The Afterlife of Empire(Univ. of California Press, 2012)

The Leo Gershoy Award

Daniela Bleichmar(Univ. of Southern California) Visible Empire: Botanical Expeditions and Visual Culture in the Hispanic Enlightenment (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2012)

The J. Franklin Jameson Award in Editorial Achievement

Editors and Translators:John Taylor(Univ. of Leeds);Wendy R. Childs (Univ. of Leeds), and Leslie Watkiss(Society of Antiquaries of London) The St. Albans Chronicle: the Chronica maiora of Thomas Walsingham, Vol. II: 1394–­1422(Clarendon Press and Oxford Univ. Press, 2011)

The Joan Kelly Memorial Prize in Women’s History

Carol Pal (Bennington College) Republic of Women: Rethinking the Republic of Letters in the Seventeenth Century (Cambridge Univ. Press, 2012)

The Martin A. Klein Prize in African History

Derek R. Peterson(Univ. of Michigan) Ethnic Patriotism and the East Africa Revival: A History of Dissent, c. 1935–­1972 (Cambridge Univ. Press, 2012)

The Littleton-­Griswold Prize

John Fabian Witt (Yale Univ. Law School) Lincoln’s Code: The Laws of War in American History (Free Press, 2012)

The J. Russell Major Prize

Miranda Spieler(American Univ. of Paris) Empire and Underworld: Captivity in French Guiana(Harvard Univ. Press, 2012)

The George L. Mosse Prize

Miranda Spieler (American Univ. of Paris) Empire and Underworld: Captivity in French Guiana (Harvard Univ. Press, 2012)

The James Rawley Prize in Atlantic History

W. Jeffrey Bolster(Univ. of New Hampshire) The Mortal Sea: Fishing the Atlantic in the Age of Sail(Harvard Univ. Press, 2012)

The John F. Richards Prize in South Asian History

A. Azfar Moin (Southern Methodist Univ.)The Millennial Sovereign: Sacred Kingship and Sainthood in Islam (Columbia Univ. Press, 2012)

The Wesley-­Logan Prize

Martha Biondi (Northwestern Univ.)Black Revolution on Campus(Univ. of California Press, 2012)

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.