Publication Date

December 1, 1992

Perspectives Section


Homer Calkin is the recipient of the second Distinguished Service Award from the United Methodist Church’s General Commission on Archives and History.

Ronald D. Cassell, Univ. of North Carolina, Greensboro, has been promoted to associate professor.

Delia Crutchfield Cook is the recipient of the Gus T. Ridgel Fellowship from the Univ. of Missouri, Columbia.

Donald T. Critchlow has accepted a position as chair of the Department of History at Saint Louis Univ.

Joan Connell, Xavier Univ., has been appointed vice president for academic affairs at Canisius Coll.

John Anthony Davis, Univ. of Warwick, Great Britain, has been appointed to serve as the Emiliana Pasca Noether Professor of Modern Italian History at the Univ. of Connecticut.

Alexis B. Dudden, a 1991 graduate of Columbia Univ., has been awarded a 1992 Mellon Fellowship by the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation.

John D’Emilio, Univ. of North Carolina, Greensboro, has been promoted to professor.

Philip Gavitt has accepted a position as director of the Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies and associate professor in history at Saint Louis Univ.

Nadine I. Hata, El Camino Coll., has been named acting vice president of instruction.

David Alan Johnson, Portland State Univ., is the recipient of the 1992 Book Award of the Pacific Coast Branch of the American Historical Association for Founding the Far West, California, Oregon, and Nevada, 1840–1890 (Univ. of California Press, 1992).

Julie Johnson, Univ. of Pennsylvania, has been appointed associate director of the Hagley Museum and Library’s Center for the History of Business, Technology, and Society.

Owen V. Johnson has been named director of the Russian and East European Institute at Indiana Univ.

Melvin Kranzberg, Georgia Institute of Technology, was awarded the Sterling Olmsted Award of the Liberal Education Division of the American Society for Education for his work in bringing technology and the humanities together.

Howard R. Lamar, Yale Univ., has been named acting president. Jane Landers, Univ. of Florida, has accepted a position as assistant professor of history at Vanderbilt Univ.

Pierre-Henri Laurent, Tufts Univ., is the recipient of a Fulbright/European Community Research Scholar grant by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars for 1992–93. He will also serve as chair of the European Community Studies Association for the same time period.

William A. Link, Univ. of North Carolina, Greensboro, has been promoted to professor.

Thomas Madden has accepted a position as assistant professor of history at Saint Louis Univ.

John J. McCusker has been named the Ewing Halsell Distinguished Professor of American History and a professor of economics at Trinity Univ.

Patrick B. Miller, Univ. of Arizona, has been named Scholar-in-Residence at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture for 1992–93, for work on a project entitled “Pillars of Fire: A History of Traditionally African-American Colleges and Universities.”

Mark Neely accepted the John Francis Bannon Chair in History and American Studies at Saint Louis Univ.

Sylvia Neely has accepted the position of associate professor at Saint Louis Univ.

Christopher H. Owen, Emory Univ., was awarded the Georgia Historical Society’s Stevens Award for his article, “By Design: The Social Meaning of Methodist Church Architecture in Nineteenth-Century Georgia,” which appeared in the Georgia Historical Quarterly.

Robert V. Remini, Univ. of Illinois at Chicago, was named to the Honorable Order of Kentucky Colonels, the highest honor that can be bestowed upon an individual by the State of Kentucky.

Julie A. Reuben, Univ. of Texas, Dallas, has been selected as a 1992–93 Spencer Fellow by the National Academy of Education for her work on the history of higher education in the United States.

Michal Rozbicki has been appointed assistant professor in history at Saint Louis Univ.

Howard Sachar, George Washington Univ., has been appointed Charles E. Smith Professor of Modern Jewish History.

Denny Schillings, an instructor at Homewood-Flossmoor (Illinois) High School, has assumed the office of president-elect of the National Council for the Social Studies.

Philip Scranton, Rutgers Univ., has been appointed director of the Hagley Museum and Library’s Center for the History of Business, Technology, and Society.

Lois G. Schwoerer, George Washington Univ., has been appointed Elmer Louis Kayser Professor of History.

David Sheinin, Trent Univ., was awarded the 1992 Harold Eugene Davis Prize for Best Article by the Middle Atlantic Council of Latin American Studies for his study “Argentina and the United States at the Sixth Pan American Conference (Havana 1928).”

David E. Shi, Davidson Coll., has been named vice president for academic affairs and dean at Furman Univ.

Peter N. Stearns, Carnegie Mellon Univ., has been appointed Dean of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences.

Mart A. Stewart, Oregon State Univ., was awarded the Agriculture History Society’s 1991 Carstensen Award for the best article published in Agriculture History, for “‘Whether West, Deodand, or Stray’: Cattle, Culture, and the Environment in Early Georgia.”

Jeffrey Stine, National Museum of American History, has been appointed as one of three U.S. representatives to the recently created Canadian/Mexican/U.S. Trilateral Committee on Environmental Education.

John Kuo Wei Tchen, who served as chair of the New York Humanities Council in 1989–91 and is one of the founders of the Chinatown History Museum in New York City, was honored by the National Endowment for the Humanities for bringing “the history of Asian immigrants of this country to life for all Americans.”

C. Vann Woodward, Sterling Professor Emeritus at Yale Univ., is the recipient of the National Association of Scholars third Sidney Hook Memorial Award.


American Council of Learned Societies


1992 Fellowship Program

Michael T. Burns, Mount Holyoke Coll.

Linda T. Darling, Univ. of Arizona

Paula E. Findlen, Univ. of California, Davis

Estelle B. Freedman, Stanford Univ.

Michael R. Maas, Rice Univ.

Jo Burr Margadant, Santa Clara Univ.

Devon A. Mihesuah, Northern Arizona Univ.

Cynthia Radding, Univ. of Missouri, St. Louis

Laila J. Rupp, Ohio State Univ.

John D. Saillant, Bryant Coll.

Robert C. Stacey, Univ. of Washington

Judith S. Stein, City Coll., CUNY

John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation


Barbara Fields, Columbia Univ.

Suzanne Lebsock, Rutgers Univ.

Laurel T. Ulrich, Univ. of New Hampshire

North Caroliniana Society

1992–93 Archie K. Davis Fellowships

Robert M. Calhoon, Univ. of North Carolina, Greensboro

Deborah Montgomerie, Duke Univ.

Darryl L. Peterkin, Princeton Univ.

Richard Rankin, Queens Coll.

Carole Watterson Troxler, North Carolina Loyalists, Nova Scotia

Mary Lethert Wingerd, Duke Univ.

Radcliffe College, Schlesinger Library

Dissertation & Research Grants

Dennis A. Deslippe, Univ. of Iowa

Joan E. Organ, Case Western Reserve Univ.

John D’Emilio, Univ. of North Carolina, Greensboro

Dorothy E. Pennino, Silver Spring, MD

Elizabeth Israels Perry, Brooklyn Coll.

Honorary Visiting Scholars

Judith A. Allen, Griffith Univ., Australia

Philip J. Ethington, Harvard Univ.

Marilynn Wood Hill, New York