Publication Date

May 1, 1990

Perspectives Section


Erving E. Beauregard, University of Dayton, received the Robert E. Kennedy Award of the Ohio Conference of the American Association of University Professors. The award is conferred for outstanding contributions to the cause of academic freedom.

The Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation, with funding from the Mellon Foundation, awarded undergraduates Michael A. Berkowitz, Princeton University, andSharon B. Block, University of Pennsylvania, Mellon Fellowships in the Humanities.

Carol Blum, SUNY-Stony Brook, has accepted the position as book review editor of Eighteenth Century Studies.

Washington University Libraries has announced that Nicholas C. Burckel, formerly director of public services and collection development, has been appointed associate dean for collections and services.

Lawrence Cress, University of Tulsa, has been named Walker Professor of American History.

Alan Gallay, Western Washington University, has been awarded a Mellon Fellowship in the Humanities at Harvard University.

The National Endowment for the Humanities and the Shelby Cullom Davis Center for Historical Studies have each awarded research fellowships to John Mason Hart, University of Houston.

John B. Hench, American Antiquarian Society, was elected vice president/president-elect of the Association for the Bibliography of History.

The Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission and the Brandywine Battlefield Commission recently appointed Dennis K. McDaniel as Historic Site Administrator at the Brandywine Battlefield.

The National Association of Women Deans, Administrators, and Counsellors conferred its Women’s Research Award on Beverly G. Merrick, East Carolina University, for her book Managerial Women and Men: The Changing Stereotypes and Correlative Patterns for Success.

Antonio Rios-Bustamante, Mexican-American Studies and Research Center, University of Arizona, has been appointed to the Pima County Historical Commission.

Zoltan Tarr, Rutgers University, Newark, has been awarded a Fulbright grant to Hungary from the Council for International Exchange of Scholars.

The Virginia Historical Society’s William M.E. Rachal Award has been presented to Alden T. Vaughan, Columbia University, for his article, “The Origins Debate: Slavery and Racism in Seventeenth-Century Virginia,” that appeared in the Virginia Magazine of History and Biography.

The National Endowment for the Humanities has selected Julia S. Werner, Nicolet High School and a member of the AHA’s Teaching Division, to be Wisconsin’s NEH/Reader’s Digest Teacher-Scholar for 1990.