Publication Date

May 1, 1989

Perspectives Section


The National Endowment for the Humanities named Marjorie J. Bingham, St. Louis Park High School, Minnesota as Minnesota’s NEH/Reader’s Digest Teacher-Scholar for 1989. See the “Noteworthy” column of this issue for more details on this new award.

The San Diego Independent Scholars manuscript competition award of $1000 went to Victoria Brown for her work “Fear of Feminization: Los Angeles High Schools in the Progressive Era.”

Thomas E. Burke Jr. received the 1988 Hendricks Manuscript Award of $1000 for his dissertation entitled “The Extremest Part of All: The Dutch Community of Schenectady, New York 1661–1710.” The award is given by the Friends of the New Netherland Project.

The History of Science Society awarded its Derek Price Award to Owen Hannaway, Johns Hopkins University, for his article “Laboratory Design and the Aim of Science: Andreas Libavious versus Tycho Brahe,” Isis, 1986, and the Society’s Watson Davis Prize was awarded toJohn L. Heilbron, University of California, Berkeley for his work Dilemmas of an Upright Man: Max Planck as Spokesman for German Science, University of California Press, 1986.

The History and Geography section of the Academie des Sciences Morales et Politiques of the Institut de France elected Orest Ranum, Johns Hopkins University, as corresponding member.

John Swann, University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston received the American Institute of the History of Pharmacy’s 1989 Edward Kremers Award for his book, Academic Scientists and the Pharmaceutical Industry: Cooperative Research in Twentieth-Century America, Johns Hopkins University Press, 1988.

The 1989 Bancroft Prizes in American history were awarded to Eric Foner, for Reconstruction: America’s Unfinished Revolution 1863–1877, Harper and Row and Edmund S. Morgan for Inventing the People: The Rise of Popular Sovereignty in England and America, W.W. Norton and Co. Columbia University awards the Bancroft Prizes each year to recognize books of exceptional merit and distinction in American history and diplomacy. Eric Foner’s book on reconstruction also won the 1988 Los Angeles Times Book Prize under the history category (see Members, March 1989 Perspectives). Both are members of the AHA. Eric Foner is DeWitt Clinton Professor of History, Columbia University and Edmund S. Morgan is Sterling Professor of American History Emeritus, Yale University. The Bancroft Prizes carry an award of $4000 and were established in 1948 with a bequest from historian Frederic Bancroft.